• Gift Certificate
  • Track Order
  • Help
  • Feedback [+]
  • Ship To: US Flag
  • Shop by Department
  • Hot Buys

MF MD HG Ask Our Gearheads 07-08-14

Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass  

  • Write a Review
Product #518243
Top Rated

Overview

  • Mahogany body
  • Glued-in mahogany neck
  • SlimTaper™ “D” neck profile
Description & Specs
  • MSRP:
    $499.00
  • Your Savings:
    - $200.00
  • Your Price:
    $29900
2 Restock From $254.99
1 Used From $278.07
Please Select a Style...
  • Cherry

    $299.00 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Cherry", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 299.00, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 499.00, "salePrice": 299.00, "listPrice": 299.00, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "sku": "site1sku518243000019000", "displaySku": "518243000019000", "serialized": false, "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//518243000019000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Ebony

    $299.00 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Ebony", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 299.00, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 499.00, "salePrice": 299.00, "listPrice": 299.00, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "sku": "site1sku518243000035000", "displaySku": "518243000035000", "serialized": false, "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//518243000035000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Restock Cherry

    $254.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 7/21/14

    { "name": "Cherry", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Order Now! Expected to ship 07-21-2014", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "07-21-2014", "price": 254.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 499.00, "salePrice": 254.99, "listPrice": 254.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","flexibleFinancing","guarantee","international"], "warranty": true, "sku": "site1sku518243002019000", "displaySku": "518243002019000", "serialized": false, "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "Restock", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//518243000019000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Restock Ebony

    $254.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 7/21/14

    { "name": "Ebony", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Order Now! Expected to ship 07-21-2014", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "07-21-2014", "price": 254.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 499.00, "salePrice": 254.99, "listPrice": 254.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","flexibleFinancing","guarantee","international"], "warranty": true, "sku": "site1sku518243002035000", "displaySku": "518243002035000", "serialized": false, "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "Restock", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//518243000035000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }

Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)

  • (Most Popular)
+ Add to Wish List
See All Epiphone 4 String Electric Bass
Epiphone

A classic bass that put Gibson and Epiphone on the map.

In the early 1960s the Kalamazoo factory, home to both Epiphone and Gibson instruments, decided to cease production of the Les Paul guitar. In its place came a radical new guitar design that also influenced the Kalamazoo factory's bass designs. With the Les Paul (temporarily) out of the picture, the SG took over. And for a time during that golden era of manufacturing, the classic SG bass was the historic factory’s sole electric bass.

But the EB “SG” bass was by no means a cast-off. It quickly became one of the most attractive and distinctive basses in rock and players like Bill Wyman of The Rolling Stones, Cream’s Jack Bruce, and The Who’s John Entwistle made rock history on SG-style basses. Now, Epiphone presents the EB-3, a stunning recreation of the vintage marvel with all the tone and feel of the original without the vintage price tag and vintage problems.

Features

  • Mahogany body
  • Glued-in mahogany neck
  • SlimTaper™ “D” neck profile
  • 34" Scale
  • 1.65" Nut width
  • Rosewood fretboard w/trapezoid inlays
  • Sidewinder humbucker neck pickup
  • NYT Bass mini humbucker bridge pickup

Add one to your collection today!

 

EB-3 SG Bass Specifications:

Customer Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot®

by PowerReviews
EpiphoneEB-3 SG Bass
 
4.5

(based on 102 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (67)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (23)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (6)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (5)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

88%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Fun to play (16)
  • Good feel (14)
  • Good tone (13)
  • Good pick up (11)
  • Solid electronics (11)

Cons

  • Fret buzz (7)

Best Uses

  • Practicing (15)
  • Jamming (13)
  • Small venues (8)
  • Recording (6)
  • Rock concerts (6)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Experienced (9), Novice (4), Professional musician (4)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

UNBEATABLE quality

I am a bass player of 20 + years. My first bass was a pawn-shop find of a 72 Gibson EB3 L (slotted headstock) which is a very similar instrument. This is another...Read complete review

I am a bass player of 20 + years. My first bass was a pawn-shop find of a 72 Gibson EB3 L (slotted headstock) which is a very similar instrument. This is another story. I also had a cheap, old Epiphone Accu-Bass and it is impossible to believe that the same company built the EB-3. This was 20 years ago and was probably built in a different factory. The EB-3 combines great craftsmanship with faithful, classic style of the the 60's/70's Gibson line. It is extremely fun to play... a long and slender neck with full access to the upper register makes the EB-3 a blast. The neck feels a lot like the old Gibson necks... and I suppose also a bit like a Fender Jazz at the nut.. but not at all like bass necks with a flatter, more modern profile. I like this a lot.
I bought this bass because I was looking for a quality, inexpensive bass to play in my gigging band that I wouldn't have to worry about bringing to bars. Simply put, I am blown away at the quality of the Epiphone EB-3. It sounds, looks, and plays wonderfully. I expect to have this bass for a long long time.
There has been much debate regarding the Gibson and/or Epiphone pickups and bridge quality... Personally, I don't see the problem. Pickups offer a wide selection of tones and the bridge is simple yet stable. Bridge set up can be a bit difficult as the bridge pickup is in the way of the saddle adjustment screws. The 3 point bridge is interesting... it works fine but does not have the ease of adjustability that a Fender style bridge has.
Pickups: I love these. Talk about Growl. A lot has been said about these "mudbuckers"... they are unique sounding for sure... I find them distinct, punchy, articulate and versatile. They are also somewhat microphonic, which I do not find to be a bad thing.
Unbeatable quality. Flawless paint job, wonderful inlay work, clean route-jobs... really a fantastic instrument. The Chinese factory that crafted this instrument is really doing a great job challenging Gibson in the Finish department... look out!
The nut is cheap, but works. The tuners are fine...they feel solid and work great. For the money, I am certainly not complaining, but they certainly are not top of the line. Easily upgraded.
This beast is SOLID Mahogany with a set neck and I can't see a single flaw. Wonderfully crafted.
Faithful to the original Gibson EB-3, this model neckdives like the best of them.... just be aware that the bass behaves this way and don't take your hand off the neck!
As stated above, I am thrilled at the quality of this instrument for the price. Yes, it is made in China, but it rivals the quality of most American basses that I have used in the past at a fraction of the cost. These are NOT the cheap, poorly made beginner instruments of the past. The rosewood on the fingerboard is not of the same quality as you would expect on the Gibson version, but these cosmetic descripencies are overshadowed by the cheap price. I do not believe that you will find a better value for your money than the EB-3. Mahogany body and neck (set neck) and quality electronics trump all of the other basses in this price range. If you like the look and feel of the Gibson basses of old, this one is for you.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Low quality, need upgrading

It sounds odd but kinda nice, very vintage lo-fi. A bit boomy in a good way. BIG problem is that volume between strings is uneven. This is a major flaw. The E...Read complete review

It sounds odd but kinda nice, very vintage lo-fi. A bit boomy in a good way. BIG problem is that volume between strings is uneven. This is a major flaw. The E string sounds dead. Also, the tuners don't work. So you need to upgrade those in order to play for more than 2 minutes without losing tune. The neck has a lot of dead spots. Be prepared to spend a lot of money upgrading. I have replaced tuners, brigde, pickup and strings.

Reviewed by 102 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
3.0

Great Bass for the price.

By Zoilo

from Minneola, Florida

About Me Experienced

Ask me a question

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Solid Electronics

Cons

  • Fret Buzz

Best Uses

  • Jamming
  • Practicing

Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

I bought this bass in 2009 just to have a bass to practice with. When it arrived I was surprised how nice the paint job was and how nice and shiny the chrome hardware was for an instrument that cost so little. For that price I didn't expect much. I experimented with different set ups and found that it plays best with a lot of relief in the neck. The bridge pick up needed to be adjusted to get the sound even between the four strings. Eventually I got it to the point where it plays and sounds pretty good. This would make a good first bass for a student or a good spare for a veteran musician. I've had this SG for 5 years and it's a keeper.

Comment on this review

(3 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
2.0

Low quality, need upgrading

By t. truck

from Oslo, Norway

About Me Experienced

Pros

  • Fun To Play

Cons

  • Flat Sound
  • Fret Buzz
  • Poor Pick Up

Best Uses

  • Practicing

Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

It sounds odd but kinda nice, very vintage lo-fi. A bit boomy in a good way. BIG problem is that volume between strings is uneven. This is a major flaw. The E string sounds dead. Also, the tuners don't work. So you need to upgrade those in order to play for more than 2 minutes without losing tune. The neck has a lot of dead spots. Be prepared to spend a lot of money upgrading. I have replaced tuners, brigde, pickup and strings.

Comment on this review

 
4.0

Enjoying it and love it

By Dan

from Charlotte, NC

About Me Novice

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone

Cons

  • Fret Buzz

Best Uses

  • Jamming
  • Practicing

Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

I have enjoyed the guitar and have played it almost every day. There have been no problems.

Comment on this review

(2 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Great Bass, but not for everyone.

By Lawrence Smith

from Columbus Ohio

About Me Professional Musician

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone
  • Solid Electronics
  • That 60s And 70s Tone

Cons

  • Neck heavy

Best Uses

  • Jamming
  • Practicing
  • Recording
  • Rock Concerts

Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

This bass is great at getting that late 60s to mid-70s tone. If you like Mountain, Cream, Roxy Music and Hot Tuna, this bass through an amp with a little overdrive will kill it every time. Not really the bass if playing funk or more modern sounds. This is a club and arena rock beast.

This bass needs to be set-up properly. I have yet to find one that comes out of the factory set-up right. The often complained about fret buzz is not a design flaw in these basses. Make sure the bridge AND truss rod are adjusted for your comfort. If you are getting too much buzz, adjust the truss rod to get the right amount of neck-relief to stop the buzzing. If you don't know how to adjust it yourself, get it to a shop because it is easy to overdo it and ruin the instrument.

If you do this, this bass should be extremely easy to play, and sound amazing.

Comment on this review

(1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Once you start playing it's hard to put down

By Midd 40

from Marion Massachusetts

About Me Experienced

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • 60 Styles Neck Very Easy To Play
  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone
  • Heritage Cherry Is Absolutely Gorgeous
  • Solid Electronics

Cons

  • A Slight Fret Buzz Add A Little Pressure It Goes Away

Best Uses

  • Jamming
  • Practicing
  • Recording
  • Small Venues

Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

This base is actually easier to play than my 4001 Ricky. The 60's streamlined knack is so smooth an fast. I would highly recommend this bass for anyone from a novice to professional.And it looks great!

Comment on this review

 
5.0

Love my new bass.

By Luke

from Hastings, MI

About Me Professional Musician

Ask me a question

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone
  • Solid Electronics

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

    I decided it was time for something new, so I set aside my old Gibson and got this new Epiphone. I was delighted with it's performance. It's a little lighter and very smooth to play. Love it.

    Comment on this review

    (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    3.0

    Heavy headstock

    By kalmahking93

    from New york

    About Me Novice

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel
    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone
    • Solid Electronics

    Cons

    • Fret Buzz

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Recording
    • Rock Concerts
    • School Bands
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

    Normally I do not write a review unless it is a big item like this then I feel others should know how I felt. When I looked at this bass i was ecstatic to get it, now I am going to be returning it. There are two major things that bother me, The headstock is so heavy that it always drops down past my waist. This is not enjoyable and me nor my friend enjoy dealing with this. Its a great bass with one down fall. Also the other unfortunate thing is how the SG is made with that screw for the strap on the back side makes it weird. But hopefully I can find a good alternative.

    Comment on this review

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Worth every penny

    By Leviathan666

    from Xenia, Oh

    About Me Professional Musician

    Ask me a question

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel
    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone
    • Solid Electronics

    Cons

    • Minor Scratches

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Recording
    • Rock Concerts
    • School Bands
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

    For the money you just can't go wrong with this bass. Lets start at the top, the tuning keys are outstanding open gear tuners that are heavy duty and make tuning a snap. The neck has great fretwork with no snags or sharp points and is easy to adjust, should it ever be necessary. Mine had already been tweaked to perfection and the intonation was also, surprisingly, perfect. It has the typical Gibson neck so it has infinite sustain and if you have ever played another one there won't be any shockers is store for you. The pickups are also excellent and if you feel like channeling your inner Jack Bruce and want that classic Cream sound you will have it in spades by soloing the sidewinder in the neck. However, and unlike the EB-0 that Jack used back in the day, if you want more top end snarl the mini bucker at the bridge provides it nicely and makes the guitar much more versatile than the EB-0 ever was. The 3 point bridge is easy to adjust and my only gripe is that, should you ever have to adjust the intonation, the adjustment screws are located under the string so I think it might be a pain to deal with. The electronics are pretty solid with a well shielded cavity, tidily bundled wiring and good solid solder work through out. I think they would have been better served if they had put better volume/tone pots in this axe as the taper is very short but they are solid so I don't think I'll be replacing them unless it becomes a problem later on. As for the fit and finish mine is the ebony model and it did have some minor scuff marks on the back that looked like it had been slid briefly over cardboard but you would really have to look the guitar over closely to see them and anyone in the audience will surely never be aware . Also there was some sort of fluid that had been slopped on the neck but a good scrubbing with some Ernie Ball fretboard clean and prep made short work of it. I don't know what type of strings it had but I didn't care for them so I put a set of DR Neon White strings on this thing and they really pop on stage and make the bass look like it has a tux on. Over all it is a fantastic buy with only a little neck dive that keeps it from being perfect as a rock bass. I have many many basses and some of them that cost two or three times what this does were not this nice or playable right out of the box so my recommendation is buy this bass, you won't regret it. Epiphone also sells the fitted case for this thing that is wonderful and just makes it that much classier for very little money invested. So whether you are looking for your first bass or you're an old road musician like myself you just can't find a better deal than with the EB-3 and Epiphone really knocked this one outta the park.

    Comment on this review

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    Fun to play bass for a different sound

    By Bones

    from Santa Cruz, CA

    About Me Experienced

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel
    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone
    • Solid Electronics

    Cons

    • Fret Buzz

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Recording
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

    got one used in good condition but discounting the minor scratches and a minor ding near the strap button the quality of the workmanship was excellent for a bass in this price range. Plays really well and only a minor bit of fret buzz which was easy to get rid of by raising the bridge a bit. Action was really low when i got it so it could easily stand to get raised a fraction. The sound is very bass heavy on the neck pickup by itself. You can dial in a bit more treble by using setting 2 and mixing the volume level and tone of the two pickups. The bridge pickup is very treble sounding - almost too thin. If you turn down the tone on the bridge pickup it sounds better. I am not using the bridge p/u by itself ever - seems to be good for maybe only a few songs. Going forward I could see routing out the cavity and putting in a MM type pickup. Other than that the sound can get very close to Jack Bruce/Cream sound along with good Hard Rock to Heavy Metal sounds. You can dial in an acceptable jazz sound or R&B sound but it's not quite there so I'm using this baby for mostly Cream, Steppenwolf, CCR, etc. Works good for old-time R&R. Nice sleek black finish and chrome hardware gives it a nice dark appeal. Pots and controls work well and are smooth. Tuners are good but make the neck a little heavy so maybe replace with ultralights at some point. The neck does tend to dive so I'm moving the strap button nearer to the neck - almost at the end and move the strap button at the end of the body up an inch. I would also recommend a thick strap with rough leather on your shoulder to keep it from slipping - don't use a web strap as this will just let it neck dive when you let go. I'm hoping once i get lighter tuners and move the strap buttons the issue goes away but i can live with it for now. Well worth the asking price but if you can get one in good condition used it will still be a good deal even with minor cosmetic flaws.

    Comment on this review

    (1 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    NIIICCCEEEE!!!!!

    By bassmann

    from Dayton, OH.

    About Me Experienced

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel
    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone
    • Solid Electronics

    Cons

    • Fret Buzz

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing

    Comments about Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass:

    Nice overall.. Awesome Look.... Great for practicing or the hobbyist.....

    Comment on this review

    Displaying reviews 1-10

    Back to top

    Previous | Next »

    You are changing the Ship-To country.

    Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.