Call & Save Coupon: Limited Time Offer

MF MD HG Backstage Pass Free Shipping 02-23-17
Ibanez Logo
Product 516148

Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar  Red 

  • Write a Review

Having trouble fitting in? If it's because you're pierced and tattooed and attend a prepped out conservative school far from urban areas, we can't he...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

Please Select a Style...  
  • Red

    $179.99 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Red", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000005000", "displaySku": "516148 000005000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000005000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • In stock

    { "name": "Roadster Orange Metallic", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 149.99, "isOnSale": true, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,149.99,false", "onSalePrice": 30.00, "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 149.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000004000", "displaySku": "516148 000004000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/on-sale.png", "stickerDesc":"Select Styles On Sale Now!", "stickerDisplayText":"Sale", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000004000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,200", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Black

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/3/17

    { "name": "Black", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-03-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-03-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000001000", "displaySku": "516148 000001000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000001000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Metallic Purple

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/8/17

    { "name": "Metallic Purple", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-08-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-08-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000002000", "displaySku": "516148 000002000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000002000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Starlight Blue

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/8/17

    { "name": "Starlight Blue", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-08-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-08-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000003000", "displaySku": "516148 000003000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000003000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Ships By 5/8/17

    { "name": "Brown Sunburst Rosewood fretboard", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-08-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-08-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000006158", "displaySku": "516148 000006158", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000006158_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Weathered Black Rosewood

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/9/17

    { "name": "Weathered Black Rosewood", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-09-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-09-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000010172", "displaySku": "516148 000010172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000010172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Transparent Red Rosewood

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/8/17

    { "name": "Transparent Red Rosewood", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-08-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-08-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000011172", "displaySku": "516148 000011172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000011172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Pearl White

    $179.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/3/17

    { "name": "Pearl White", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-03-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-03-2017", "price": 179.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,179.99,false", "msrp": 257.13, "salePrice": 179.99, "listPrice": 179.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku516148000051000", "displaySku": "516148 000051000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/516148000051000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,440", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
  • (Most Popular)
  • Regular Price:
    $179.99
  • 2-Year Warranty
    FREE
  • On Sale Today:
    up to - $30.00
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Starting At:
    $14999.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List
Musician's Friend BackStage Pass

Earn up to 1,440 reward points.

See All Ibanez 4 String Electric Bass
OVERVIEW

Compact and comfortable.

Having trouble fitting in? If it's because you're pierced and tattooed and attend a prepped out conservative school far from urban areas, we can't help you. If it's because you need a smaller bass for the tour bus or running scales in cramped quarters, we can. The Ibanez Mikro electric bass offers anyone who needs a compact axe or the comfort of a smaller neck (most especially young rockers) a real alternative to small bass guitars that are really only toys.

Case sold separately.

FEATURES
  • Neck: GRSM 4, 28.60"
  • Body: Agathis body
  • Frets: Medium frets
  • Fingerboard: Rosewood
  • Inlay: Pearl dot
  • Bridge: B10 bridge
  • Neck pickup: PSNDP neck pickup
  • Middle pickup: PSNDJ bridge pickup
  • Hardware color: Chrome
  • Case sold separately

Order today with the protection of our 45-day lowest price and total satisfaction guarantees!

Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
IbanezGSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar
 
4.7

(based on 141 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (101)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (34)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

95%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Fun to play (74)
  • Good feel (67)
  • Good tone (62)
  • Good pick up (49)
  • Solid electronics (41)

Cons

  • Fret buzz (5)
  • Craftsmanship (3)

Best Uses

  • Practicing (63)
  • Jamming (53)
  • Small venues (32)
  • Recording (27)
  • School bands (15)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Experienced (40), Novice (18), Professional musician (18)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great Big Little Bass

I must say that I was a bit shocked when I pulled it out of the box. These are about the size of a guitar - actually the bodies are smaller than most electric...Read complete review

I must say that I was a bit shocked when I pulled it out of the box. These are about the size of a guitar - actually the bodies are smaller than most electric guitars. The shock didn't disappeared a when I pluged it in and tuned her up. These things sound big for being so small!

The good:

The fit and finish is really nice, I got one in pearl white and the finish is done very well. The fretwork on mine was spot-on, no fret sprout or sharp fret ends. Also, there were no high spots on any of the frets which I checked thoroughly with a fret rocker. The neck relief and string action height out of the box was pretty good and the nut was cut very, very close to the proper depth as well.

The neck is comfortable in my hand but that is a sujective opinion. The width at the nut is 1.5" and has a sort of shortened modern "A" J Bass style neck profile. The fretboard radius is 14", which means it's fairly flat compared to a Fender style neck,for those who care about such things.

The hardware has a decent plating. The bridge is fairly substantial and not junk as you might think at this price point. The same bridge is used on Ibanez models: GSRM20, GSR200, GSR320 and GSR370.

The tuners are like a smaller version of the Gotoh compact bass tuners. While they aren't anything to write home about, they get the job done with minimal backlash. The gear ratio on them is only about 16:1 as opposed to 20:1 for Gotohs. All of the tuner buttons were adjusted evenly (none lose or tight) and they do hold their tuning well, which is job one, so they'er perfectly acceptable.

The pickups are pretty weak. I measured them both and got a DC resistance of 6.3k ohms for the P-Bass pu and 4.4k ohms for the J-Bass pu. Despite their weakness, they do sound pretty good and you can get some good variance in tone via the two volume and one tone controls.

If you do decide to upgrade the pups, be aware that the J pickup at the bridge is actually the size of a NECK J pickup (due to the 2.25" string spread).

Being as small as this bass is, it should fit quit nicely in most Tele/Strat hard cases (it does in mine). The overall length is 39", the body is 12" wide at the lower bout and the length of the body from strap button to stap button is 19". Looks like the Musician's Gear Deluxe Electric Guitar Case is made to order for it.

The not so good:

Right off the bat, the strings that come on it suck - period. Do your self a favor and buy a set of strings along with the bass. Be sure to get a "short scale" string set, you don't just cut bass strings like guitar strings - they can unravel or break at the post (especially flatwounds). That said, there are a good assortment of short scale 4 string bass sets available from various vendors. The original gauges used are: .045, .065, .085, .105

While the bridge is actually quite good in it's quality, it does have a design flaw that came out while intonating. The saddle adustment screws on the A and E strings will "bottom out" in their travel because the threaded hole doesn't go deep enough into the saddle to allow it to move all the way back. Because of this, the A and E saddles won't move back far enough to get to the intonation point.

What I ended up doing was to remove the screws, run a nut on to them and then use a dremel cut off wheel to shorten them by about 3/16" - 1/4", clean up the cut end with a finger nail file and then remove the nut and reassemble them on the bridge. If you do this while the strings are off, it's actually pretty easy and it cures the design flaw.

For those not so adventurous, they could remove one of the screws and take it to a hardware store and buy 4 size M3-0, 5 pitch metric stainless steel machine screws (Phillips prefered) - two the original length and two 4 or 5 mm shorter.

Over all, I'm glad I bought this little bass, after 45 years of bass playing, arthritis had me thinking I would have to give it up. But this thing has brought the fun back in playing.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Looks beter than it is

At first I was impressed neck was easy, and strait played well. Until the monsoon season came and the neck bowed , BAD ! I tried to adjust the neck and found that the...Read complete review

At first I was impressed neck was easy, and strait played well. Until the monsoon season came and the neck bowed , BAD ! I tried to adjust the neck and found that the truss rod was striped (1st I needed to make adjustment) It was shipped that way) The saddle adj screws bottom out before you can get to the proper intonation adj always #. The 1/4" jack now loses contact with the plug .... loss of signal. M/F Is refunding by check.

Reviewed by 141 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

(30 of 31 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Great Big Little Bass

By That Old Guy

from Tampa, FL

About Me Professional Musician

See all my reviews

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Recording
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

    I must say that I was a bit shocked when I pulled it out of the box. These are about the size of a guitar - actually the bodies are smaller than most electric guitars. The shock didn't disappeared a when I pluged it in and tuned her up. These things sound big for being so small!

    The good:

    The fit and finish is really nice, I got one in pearl white and the finish is done very well. The fretwork on mine was spot-on, no fret sprout or sharp fret ends. Also, there were no high spots on any of the frets which I checked thoroughly with a fret rocker. The neck relief and string action height out of the box was pretty good and the nut was cut very, very close to the proper depth as well.

    The neck is comfortable in my hand but that is a sujective opinion. The width at the nut is 1.5" and has a sort of shortened modern "A" J Bass style neck profile. The fretboard radius is 14", which means it's fairly flat compared to a Fender style neck,for those who care about such things.

    The hardware has a decent plating. The bridge is fairly substantial and not junk as you might think at this price point. The same bridge is used on Ibanez models: GSRM20, GSR200, GSR320 and GSR370.

    The tuners are like a smaller version of the Gotoh compact bass tuners. While they aren't anything to write home about, they get the job done with minimal backlash. The gear ratio on them is only about 16:1 as opposed to 20:1 for Gotohs. All of the tuner buttons were adjusted evenly (none lose or tight) and they do hold their tuning well, which is job one, so they'er perfectly acceptable.

    The pickups are pretty weak. I measured them both and got a DC resistance of 6.3k ohms for the P-Bass pu and 4.4k ohms for the J-Bass pu. Despite their weakness, they do sound pretty good and you can get some good variance in tone via the two volume and one tone controls.

    If you do decide to upgrade the pups, be aware that the J pickup at the bridge is actually the size of a NECK J pickup (due to the 2.25" string spread).

    Being as small as this bass is, it should fit quit nicely in most Tele/Strat hard cases (it does in mine). The overall length is 39", the body is 12" wide at the lower bout and the length of the body from strap button to stap button is 19". Looks like the Musician's Gear Deluxe Electric Guitar Case is made to order for it.

    The not so good:

    Right off the bat, the strings that come on it suck - period. Do your self a favor and buy a set of strings along with the bass. Be sure to get a "short scale" string set, you don't just cut bass strings like guitar strings - they can unravel or break at the post (especially flatwounds). That said, there are a good assortment of short scale 4 string bass sets available from various vendors. The original gauges used are: .045, .065, .085, .105

    While the bridge is actually quite good in it's quality, it does have a design flaw that came out while intonating. The saddle adustment screws on the A and E strings will "bottom out" in their travel because the threaded hole doesn't go deep enough into the saddle to allow it to move all the way back. Because of this, the A and E saddles won't move back far enough to get to the intonation point.

    What I ended up doing was to remove the screws, run a nut on to them and then use a dremel cut off wheel to shorten them by about 3/16" - 1/4", clean up the cut end with a finger nail file and then remove the nut and reassemble them on the bridge. If you do this while the strings are off, it's actually pretty easy and it cures the design flaw.

    For those not so adventurous, they could remove one of the screws and take it to a hardware store and buy 4 size M3-0, 5 pitch metric stainless steel machine screws (Phillips prefered) - two the original length and two 4 or 5 mm shorter.

    Over all, I'm glad I bought this little bass, after 45 years of bass playing, arthritis had me thinking I would have to give it up. But this thing has brought the fun back in playing.

    (15 of 15 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    Good buy for the money!

    By SgtSam

    from Chicago NW 'Burbs

    About Me Experienced

    Pros

    • Fun To Play

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Jamming
      • Practicing

      Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

      I've been playing electric bass since 1962. Never been a full time pro, but a I've been a part-time, weekend warrior for many years. Fender and Ibanez 34" scale basses have been my mainstay for most of those years. I've owned more Fender than Ibanez, but I've always liked the Ibanez as a better bang for the buck.

      Due to age, and Mr. Arthur Itis, I added short scale (30") basses to my arsenal about 10 years ago. About 4 years ago I switched to them full time. My Short Scales consist of a couple of custom James Basses, fretted and fretless; a Mustang; and a Squier Jaguar.

      I also have a Fender P-Jr, which is the same scale as the Ibanez Micro. The P-Jr has been upgraded with the addition of a J-Bridge pup, a 4-way switch for pup selection, and a tone control (stack-knob for volume and tone). It's a fabulous little instrument. But unfortunately, no longer offered and virtually impossible to find in the used market. I really wanted to get another one, but got tired of looking. I have gigged a number of times with this little guy and found it to be very capable.

      I bought the Mikro as a backup to the P-Jr. I found the Mikro to be a very decent bass in spite of the price, and a tremendous little instrument when price is factored in. Mine had a couple of sharp frets when I got it, now fixed. It came with round-wounds, which I detest. It now has D'Addario half-rounds. The nut on mine really needs to be replaced, it looks like someone got after it with a file. The tuners may need replacing down the road. The pickups are not bad, and very much OK for the uses I have for the bass. The bridge could be better, but it does the job and is understandable for the price.

      I've used it for band practices and jams with my friends. In those environments, it performed as needed and expected. No complaints. I've not yet, however, gigged with it.

      I do recommend the Ibanez Mikro for any electric bassist that is in need of a compact bass and doesn't want to break the bank, or even stretch it. You may or may not have to do anything to it, simply depends upon your needs and desires. But straight out of the box, it's a very nice little instrument.

      As far as a gigbag goes, the Ibanez one is a lot better the short scale bass bag I got from Redondo Music for their short scale bass. Many standard type guitar cases will fit it, but a few are a just a little shy in length. Try it out before you buy, or at least ask for the measurements before you order.

      Hope this helps.

      (11 of 11 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Outstanding Quality and Lots of Fun!

      By Julia Marshall

      from North Texas, USA

      About Me Experienced

      See all my reviews

      Ask me a question

      Pros

      • Fits Guitar Cases
      • Fun To Play
      • Good Feel
      • Good Pick Up
      • Good Tone
      • Outstanding Craftsmanship
      • Solid Electronics

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Jamming
        • Play It Anywhere
        • Practicing
        • Recording
        • Rock Concerts
        • School Bands
        • Small Venues

        Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

        I have been playing guitar since 1963 and bass since 1975. This bass is in a completely new class of instrument. And it fits in a standard electric guitar case or gig bag. It is the same overall length as my Stratocaster. This makes armchair noodling a blast. The crtaftsman ship is incredible. It was absolutely without flaws out of the well packed double box. It takes zero time to get used to the short scale. My hands aren't the biggest and sometime I really have to stretch on my other long scale basses. The tone is better than what you expect from an inexpensive guitar. Even the stock strings aren't so bad. Try some DR short scale flatwounds if that is what you play. I put some on after about a week and they are the best of any flatwounds I have ever used. This is not a toy guitar. Play it with pride. Fun for players of age. The new forrest green metallic is very pretty and subtle. You will not be disappointed. Julia in Texas

        (7 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Awesome Starter Bass!

        By Bassonator

        from Salem, Va.

        About Me Experienced

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Fun To Play
        • Good Feel
        • Good Pick Up
        • Good Tone
        • Solid Electronics

        Cons

        • None

        Best Uses

        • Jamming
        • Practicing
        • School Bands
        • Small Venues

        Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

        Perfect! We bought this for our son as his first bass. It is a great starter bass. Beautiful sound and small enough for his hands. Jamming right along with dad who is in a professional band.

        (7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Nice little package, needs setup

        By cosmicdaveus

        from Ontario, NY

        See all my reviews

        Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

        I purchased this bass for a friends daughter.

        I really like this bass but it needed a decent setup to be a "player". Most guitars need to be tweaked which is sad because new players will not continue if the action sucks. I see it all the time on Craigslist - "almost new guitar - played only a few times". Most of the time, they are selling because the action was uncomfortable.

        I would definitely buy this bass again but I would do so knowing it needed a proper setup. To be fair, that goes for just about any guitar you buy nowadays. I recently bought an expensive Taylor acoustic that sounded great but had lousy action from the factory.

        Always figure on spending $50-$75 for someone to do a proper setup. You will enjoy the instrument much, much more.
        P and J pickups, decent hardware, light weight, smaller size and a very nice finish.
        Overall quality was impressive.

        The setup as received was NOT good. The pickups were set extremely high. After lowering and balancing the pickups you could not adjust the bridge low enough before the screws bottomed out. I had to shim the neck about .030" at the p/u side to properly set the action. Now it plays great and has adjustablitity (bridge) in both directions. The nut and truss rod settings were in the ballpark.
        This is a very nice sounding bass and a good buy. The variability you can get with both pickups is impressive and the neck action is fine.

        It is a good choice for anyone who prefers a slightly smaller instrument.

        (6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Excellent starter bass for small child!

        By Mtnculture

        from NC

        About Me Experienced

        See all my reviews

        Ask me a question

        Pros

        • Fun To Play
        • Good Feel
        • Good Pick Up
        • Good Tone
        • Solid Electronics
        • well built

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Awesome Child's Bass
          • Jamming
          • Practicing
          • Small Venues

          Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

          I've been playing guitar 30 years and have set up instruments, made guitar nuts, and built sound equipment. Good quality matters to me. I bought this small bass and an Eden EC8 20w amplifier for my 6 year old son to play in our family band. It comes with a standard cable but I also bought a high quality cable to keep connection quiet......This setup is outstandingly clear and the small bass is easy to play. I believe the quality is very good and the tuners are above average. I like the sound of the pickups as well, very responsive....... No, it doesn't have the powerful bottom end of the full scale bass but it isn't supposed to. It's PERFECT for my son's size and quality is good enough that nothing about the bass will hold him back in any way. I recommend it strongly for a quality micro sized bass.

          (6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          I love this little guy

          By T. Ivison

          from Missouri

          About Me Experienced

          See all my reviews

          Ask me a question

          Pros

          • Fun To Play
          • Good Feel
          • Good Pick Up
          • Solid Electronics

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Creative Improptu
            • Jamming
            • Practicing
            • Recording
            • Small Venues

            Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

            I bought this from MF about 6 months ago. I'm basiclly a 6 string acoustic guy but I like to try different things. I have an old 34 inch full scale thumper I bang on from time to time. I thought I would try a short scale bass because the old Beatles Hofner violin base is a short scale (about 30 inch). So, I ordered this one. Wow, I love it. This guitar is well made, looks great (I got the pearl white), and comes with some hot pickups. But, the thing I like most about this Ibanez is that the short scale (28 1/2 inches) makes it easy to hold, easy to play, and easy to run up and down the fretboard. The short neck makes fast playing easy. I often play it like a lead guitar, making up riffs on the fly.

            (5 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

             
            5.0

            Unique

            By Jerkowitz

            from St. Louis, Mo

            About Me Experienced

            See all my reviews

            Ask me a question

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Fun To Play
            • Good Feel
            • Good Pick Up
            • Good Tone

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Jamming
              • Practicing
              • Recording

              Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

              I actually bought this for my adult son, he was in a car accident that left him in a wheelchair with limited use of his hands. He was a very good bassist/drummer so thought the short scale would make things easier and be good therapy to help recover some use in his hands. This was a level 3 used instrument. I was very surprised to find it was in perfect shape except for a missing strap button, a trip to my parts drawer and one minute later it was perfect. I normally play guitar but fill in on bass at times. I plugged this in to check things out and found it sounded pretty good and the short scale made it play really fast. It's about the size of a normal guitar and very light, very comfy to play. The fret ends could use a little rounding off but otherwise played very well out of the box (maybe the person that returned it had it set-up?) In the end I took it to my son and he was very happy and excited to get back into playing again, it's been two years since his accident and he was able to do a few runs on it right away. I am considering getting another one for myself it really is a cool little bass and a good value.

              (5 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

               
              4.0

              It's about what I expected for the money, some things worse, some things better

              By John Atchley

              from Texas

              Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

              Out of the box the bass was good enough not to discourage a beginner - something that can't be said of all instruments in this bottom-feeding price range. With a bit of setup and tweaking and replacing the pots and jack it is good enough to gig with. It can't hold a candle to my Groove Tools GT-5 but that cost over five times what this little puppy did. Arthritis and carpal tunnel also limit my style pretty severely on the GT-5, which is why I bought a short-scale bass.
              Can't give this more than a five because of the single master tone control. With passive controls, if you're going to have dual volumes you really need dual tones - otherwise there is too much coupling between the volumes and tone control. So, for the benefit of saving the cost of one pot they severely handicapped the usefulness of the tone control. This isn't unusual on low-end basses, but it still sucks.

              On the plus side, the control cavity does appear to have been given a shot of shielding paint.
              Some things (crappy cheap pots and jack) I expect in a low-end $180 instrument. Other things (silly arsed saddle height adjusting screws that can't be backed out fully and body wood not as advertised) I am less forgiving of. I had occasion to replace the jack a) because it went flakey the first time I stepped on the cord and b) because I wanted a locking jack because I sometimes step on the cord on stage. I had to use my Dremel and hog the hole out for the larger Neutrik locking jack. I'm not an expert on wood, but this is like no "mahogany" I've ever seen. It is not even cherry (a good dense hardwood often substituted for mahogany). It's too soft with very large grain to be any variant of mahogany I've ever heard of. It MIGHT be poplar, but I wouldn't be too surprised if it's just plain white pine. In fairness, Ibanez may have spec'd mahogany to the chinese factories, but if you don't keep them honest with frequent destructive product testing they WILL substitute cheaper materials.
              It's actually a pretty good value even with the "warts" mentioned under quality. It sounds better than I expected with nice tone and decent sustain. However, if you are not capable of doing things like a mechanical setup and replacing pots etc. yourself then I wouldn't rate this above a "6."

              I was very surprised to find that the nut slots were cut properly - something that almost never happens on instruments at the low end of the food chain and that is a pain in the backside to fix if you don't have nut files. So, this bass was perfectly intonated at the first fret, something you don't often see on instruments costing two or three times what this one does. On the other hand, the intonation at the 12th fret was fairly poor; it appeared that the saddles were never adjusted at the factory.

              String height is not as low as I'd like and could only be lowered a little before buzzing set in on the inside strings and the adjusting screws ran out of travel on the outside strings. At the lowest point I could set the action it was about 1/2mm higher than Ibanez claims to set at the factory, and about 1mm higher than I like. Still, it's by no means bad enough to discourage a beginner.

              (5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Bass Player

              By Don Vance

              from IL.

              Comments about Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar:

              Best bass I've ever owned.
              Love the short neck, don't have to stretch like I did on my Precision.
              Excelent tone, nice that it has both Precision and Jazz pickups.
              Perfect balance, not neck heavy.
              About the same shape and length as my Strat, but slightly lighter in weight.
              And last but not least the price. I can't beleive you can get so much quality for such a low price.

              Displaying reviews 1-10

              Back to top

              Previous | Next »

              Ship To: US Flag
              You are changing the Ship-To country.

              Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.