• Gift Certificate
  • Track Order
  • Help
  • Feedback [+]
  • Ship To: US Flag
  • Shop All Categories
  • Hot Deals

MF MD HG 17 Off Accessories Sale1 Day Only 12-23-14
Product 511394

Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar Black 

  • Write a Review

Aimed squarely at jazz and fusion players, the JF-1 plays like a dream. This classic hollowbody design has been tweaked to allow more comfortable acc...Read More

CHOOSE STYLE:

Please Select a Style...  
  • Black

    $349.99 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Black", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 349.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 629.99, "salePrice": 349.99, "listPrice": 349.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku511394000001000", "displaySku": "511394 000001000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//511394000001000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Transparent Red

    $349.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 1/19/15

    { "name": "Transparent Red", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Order Now! Expected to ship 01-19-2015", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "01-19-2015", "price": 349.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 629.99, "salePrice": 349.99, "listPrice": 349.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku511394000016000", "displaySku": "511394 000016000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//511394000016000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Sunburst

    $349.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 4/27/15

    { "name": "Sunburst", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Order Now! Expected to ship 04-27-2015", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "04-27-2015", "price": 349.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 629.99, "salePrice": 349.99, "listPrice": 349.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","guarantee"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku511394000056000", "displaySku": "511394 000056000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7//511394000056000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
  • (Most Popular)
  • MSRP:
    $629.99
  • Your Savings:
    - $280.00
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Your Price:
    $34999

  Add to Cart Add to Wishlist
See All Peavey Semi-Hollow and Hollow Body Electric Guitars
OVERVIEW

Maximum fingerboard access and resonant tone.

Aimed squarely at jazz and fusion players, the JF-1 plays like a dream. This classic hollowbody design has been tweaked to allow more comfortable access to the upper register of the fingerboard by ever-so-slightly angling the neck.

Fitted with modern Peavey humbuckers, the thin, lightweight maple-ply body delivers classic fat, smooth guitar sounds. 2 volume pots; 2 tone knobs; and a 3-way, toggle-style pickup selector put all the control right at your fingertips.

Check the drop-down menu to the right to select colors and/or other options.

FEATURES
  • Slightly accentuated neck angle allows easier access to the upper fingerboard
  • Thin, hollow, maple ply archtop body
  • 2 humbucking pickups
  • Rosewood fingerboard
  • Classic binding
  • MOP inlays
Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot®

by PowerReviews
PeaveyJF-1 Hollowbody Guitar
 
4.6

(based on 40 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (30)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (7)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

91%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good feel (10)
  • Fun to play (7)
  • Good tone (7)
  • Good pick up (6)
  • Solid electronics (5)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Jamming (7)
    • Practicing (6)
    • Recording (5)
    • Rock concerts (5)
    • Small venues (5)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Experienced (5), Professional musician (4)

    Most Liked Positive Review

     

    Outstanding guitar at any price point

    So, I haven't written a review for a guitar in a long time but this one surprised me so much that I had to. I got this guitar in a trade for a TC...Read complete review

    So, I haven't written a review for a guitar in a long time but this one surprised me so much that I had to. I got this guitar in a trade for a TC Electronics Nova System that I used to have. It was the best thing that could have possibly happened to my playing. The pickups are far beyond what you would expect from a guitar in this price range (along with almost everything else, frankly.) They allow the player to be really expressive and I wouldn't change them for any others; they suit the heavy duty build of this guitar well. The tone is far closer to a chambered les paul or a 339 than it is to a 335 or the normal copies that you run across. I admit that I was expecting to have a bit more of that airy, hollowbody tone, but I am so much happier with what I got instead. The tone of the JF-1 is so expressive I've unplugged all my effects after 10 years of being a reverb/delay player and have just been letting my amp and the guitar do the work. It's really made me pay more attention to the subtleties of my playing and I've grown as a result. The bad: I think I need to get another one just so that I have a backup and I might still need to get another hollow body just so that I can have that more typical hollow body funk tone because the JF-1 has too much "balls" to really do that the way a fully hollow guitar might.
    At this price range, I was comparing to the Ibanez artcore products which are not all bad, but this (mine at least) certainly puts them to shame. When the guy was talking to me about the trade I mentioned that I had been looking at a few epiphone sheratons and older model dot deluxes and he said the Peavey would "blow any dot out of the water". I have to admit that I thought he was just trying to make a pitch, but he was definitely right because I've yet to run into a dot that can get anywhere near this Peavey's tone. I do like the big neck on the dots though, and this one is a bit smaller. That's kind of a preference thing, but the dot's electronics are by anyone's ears inferior. (Not hating on the dot because I've played a few good ones).
    This is a great guitar for just about anyone because it's obviously not a 1500-3000 range vintage 335 or anything but it would be extremely difficult to find a guitar with this overall quality for under a thousand and they are selling new for less than 40% of that. I'm sure you can find a used one for even less. I would highly recommend this for a serious/more advanced student or gigging musician who knows the difference and can appreciate the quality but who can not or does not want to pay a lot for a guitar to play in smokey, hazardous venues. Additionally, there are some solid jazz tones for all of the guitar ensemble/jazz combo players out there who are looking for a new semi-hollow that can go straight from school to a garage band grunge practice. Additionally, this thing absolutely kills when playing the blues.
    Thanks for taking the time to read through this review and I wish you luck on your search for a new guitar!

    VS

    Most Liked Negative Review

     

    Misleading Picture, Poor Quality

    Had heard so many good things about this guitar, I decided to give it a try. I own a number of solid body guitars and wanted a semi-hollow to round out the collection. ...Read complete review

    Had heard so many good things about this guitar, I decided to give it a try. I own a number of solid body guitars and wanted a semi-hollow to round out the collection. Got a good price from MFI and was happy about the deal...then the guitar arrived. First off, it was not as pictured on MFI's web site. The head stock and the inlays were different and the finish was more solid red, not showing the wood flame. There were also a number of major issues with the quality of the guitar which really surprised me based on the reviews I'd read here on other sites. The frets were covered with corrosion and rust spots, as well as the strings. There were several frets that had lifted along the fingerboard edge with sharp ends. Strings are easily and cheaply replaced, however, the fret issue was a real problem. Something also looked odd about the way the strings lined up on the TOM bridge. At closer inspection, I noticed that the stop bar was installed off center a full 1/8 inch. At this point, I'd made up my mind this guitar was going back. I didn't even want to plug it in to see how it sounded. Sorry to post such a negative review and if you decide to buy this guitar, I sincerely hope you have a better experience.

    Reviewed by 40 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-10

    Back to top

    Previous | Next »

     
    4.0

    Nice Guitar But............

    By Rondo08

    from Miplton, Fl

    About Me Professional Musician

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel

    Cons

    • Poor Pick Up

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Recording
    • Small Venues

    Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

    I've been playing Gibsons and Fenders for +40 years and I was very impressed with feel of this axe. It had a problem with 1 bad fret and I had to file it. I also had to set the intonation. I will replace the pick ups with Gibson 57's and I will have a great guitar for under 5 Bills.

    Comment on this review

    (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Excellent, Versatile Guitar

    By Shep

    from Brooklyn, NY

    About Me Experienced

    Pros

    • Fun To Play
    • Good Feel
    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Jamming
      • Practicing
      • Recording
      • Small Venues

      Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

      I just received the sunburst JF-1 from Musicians Friend less than two weeks ago. This guitar is very well designed and engineered, and attractive looking. I put on a set of flatwound 11-50 strings, lowered the action but not to the point of noticeable buzzing, and it's very easy to achieve accurate intonation. The sound of the pickups are as good as can be expected at this price-point, and quite acceptable right out out of the box, but according to others who have done so, replacing the pickups and pots is very worthwhile - which I may do in the future. The play-ability of the neck is where this guitar really shines, it's surprisingly well crafted. While I do not own a ES-335, I do have a vintage mid-60's Epi Casino, and the JF-1's neck is better, to me at least. The JF-1's side jack is more practical than the frontal jack design of the original 335, dot, etc. The delivery was fast, it was very well packed, and there was absolutely no problems at all with damages. If you can find a "coupon code", as I did, use it. Yesterday, I put it in a new-style RB case for semi-hollows, took it by subway to a rehearsal room, and had some fun jamming with others. A very solid buy for a traditional, versatile, instrument with modern touches.

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Nice surprise, but not all are the same.

      By Loral

      from Seaford, DE

      About Me Professional Musician

      Pros

      • Excellent Neck
      • Good Feel
      • Good Pick Up
      • Good Tone
      • Great Pickups
      • Solid Bult
      • Tremendous Value

      Cons

      • Cheap Selector Switch
      • More Solid Than Hollow

      Best Uses

      • Jamming
      • Practicing
      • Recording
      • Rock Concerts

      Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

      This is a really nice guitar. It feels great, with excellent balance. The neck is right off a $1000+ guitar.

      My only complaint about this guitar is that it just doesn't have the tone of a semi-hollow body guitar. In fact, it sounds exactly like my older Les Paul Custom.

      When I bought this guitar, I was hoping for something with that 335 warm sound, but my guitar just has a solid body tone.

      As others have said, the picture above shows block inlays and the JF1EX I have has inlays that are about 3/8" high and rectangular shape.

      The pickups have a great tone. I have played through a couple different Boogies I have, Fender amps and my rack with no complaints.

      The selector switch is the weakest link of this guitar. It doesn't feel solid, and mine seems to rotate even after tightening it many times. It seems to end upside down after playing for an hour. I will most likely replace it with a better quality; the cost will be minimal, but the effort will be the worst part as this type guitar has no cavity plate and would have to be installed via the "F" hole.

      I think this is a nice addition to anyone's collection, especially if you don't have a semi-hollow body guitar. I'm hoping with a little time and humidity, this guitar will age nicely and loosen up and gain that warm tone.

      Comment on this review

      (0 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      I am the BIGGEST Peavey Guitar fan !

      By "Guitar-Man"

      from Leesburg, Florida

      Pros

      • Fun To Play
      • Good Feel
      • Good Pick Up
      • Good Tone
      • I've Owned 4 Peaveys
      • Solid Electronics

      Cons

        Best Uses

          Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

          I'm a solid fan of Peavey Guitars. So much so, I have Peavey on Speed Dial, and I've NEVER had a Peavey guitar that I didn't like. In fact, I'm trying to sell my Tele< to get the money to buy a Peavey JF-1 Black Guitar. I've got a 1983 Peavey T-60 that took the place of my Telecaster, AND my Les Paul. My T-60 will sound like either one with a flip of the rear switch. it's AWESOME. It's also my second one. I can't wait to get the JF-1.

          Comment on this review

          (4 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

           
          4.0

          Amazing!

          By HoldenG123

          from Columbia, MO

          About Me Experienced

          Pros

          • Beautiful
          • Fun To Play
          • Good Feel

          Cons

          • Poor Pick Up

          Best Uses

          • Jamming
          • Practicing
          • Recording
          • Rock Concerts
          • School Bands
          • Small Venues

          Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

          The feel of this instrument surpasses all Epiphone hollowbodies and many other hollowbodies ive played (especially at this price range) I bought mine used in near mint condition. It has a strange rattling sound sometimes and the pots are a little scraggly, but that's just because its used. I'm planning on putting in the Seymour Duncan hot rodded pickup set and ive heard that really brings this guitar to life! I'm also going to change the pots but I will leave the hardware. All in all, this is a great guitar and its absolutely beautiful and it feels amazing. I've had MANY guitars in my life and I wouldn't consider this a beginner guitar at all even though its in the beginner price range

          Comment on this review

          (2 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Fantastic Guitar Value!

          By Zectron2348

          from Gilbert, Arizona

          About Me Experienced

          Ask me a question

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Amazing quality
          • Fun To Play
          • Good Feel
          • Good Pick Up
          • Good Tone
          • Solid Electronics

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Jamming
            • Practicing
            • Rock Concerts
            • School Bands
            • Small Venues

            Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

            This guitar is a great value for the money, and just fun to play. Looks great too!

            Comment on this review

            (10 of 13 customers found this review helpful)

             
            3.0

            good value, questionable execution

            By Wolle

            from Kissimmee

            About Me Experienced

            Ask me a question

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Good Feel
            • Good Tone
            • Solid Electronics

            Cons

            • Not Hollowbody Workmansh
            • Poor Quality Craftsmanship

            Best Uses

              Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

              This guitar was advertised as a hollow body with light weight. Not True! It's a semi-hollow body that feels quite heavy. the inlays in the fingerboard look totally different from the pictures published by Musicianfriends. The Peavey site shows you how it actually looks! I bought the red one. The wood does not show well through the lacquer! The Scale length is given at 24 3/4 inch. This guitar has a slanted saddle that is 25 inches with the low strings and 24 #/4 with the thin strings. This leads to problems with the intonations adjustment. The low E and A strings are at the end off the adjustable range! I first thought this backward slanted bridge was a faulty built but looking at the Gibson ES 335 I see the same slant. They should have moved the bridge 1/4 inch to make the intonation setting more feasible.
              The strings as expected where cheap and rusted. I replaced them and used D'Addario EXL115 0.011-0.49. This gives the guitar a full sound !
              The action and the bow I had to reset. That took a while to eliminate any buzz. But that is not the fault of the guitar but more dependent on the strings and playing style.
              The hardware looks fine. the guitar is very stable in holding the tone! paint job is good The frets look not to good, material seems to be cheap steel, installation is not very even looking.
              Sending the guitar back would cost you the shipping and was not worse the effort.
              I got a good deal and the price is right!
              Would I recommend it. Not to very picky people but to anyone else who just want some nice looking guitar for a reasonable price.

              Comment on this review

              (15 of 16 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Outstanding guitar at any price point

              By TheRickleTickle

              from Little Rock, AR

              About Me Professional Musician

              Pros

              • Comfortable neck
              • Fun To Play
              • Good Feel
              • Good Pick Up
              • Good Tone
              • Solid construction
              • Solid Electronics

              Cons

              • Headstock Is Ugly
              • I Dont Have Two

              Best Uses

              • Jamming
              • Practicing
              • Recording
              • Rock Concerts
              • School Bands
              • Small Venues

              Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

              So, I haven't written a review for a guitar in a long time but this one surprised me so much that I had to. I got this guitar in a trade for a TC Electronics Nova System that I used to have. It was the best thing that could have possibly happened to my playing. The pickups are far beyond what you would expect from a guitar in this price range (along with almost everything else, frankly.) They allow the player to be really expressive and I wouldn't change them for any others; they suit the heavy duty build of this guitar well. The tone is far closer to a chambered les paul or a 339 than it is to a 335 or the normal copies that you run across. I admit that I was expecting to have a bit more of that airy, hollowbody tone, but I am so much happier with what I got instead. The tone of the JF-1 is so expressive I've unplugged all my effects after 10 years of being a reverb/delay player and have just been letting my amp and the guitar do the work. It's really made me pay more attention to the subtleties of my playing and I've grown as a result. The bad: I think I need to get another one just so that I have a backup and I might still need to get another hollow body just so that I can have that more typical hollow body funk tone because the JF-1 has too much "balls" to really do that the way a fully hollow guitar might.
              At this price range, I was comparing to the Ibanez artcore products which are not all bad, but this (mine at least) certainly puts them to shame. When the guy was talking to me about the trade I mentioned that I had been looking at a few epiphone sheratons and older model dot deluxes and he said the Peavey would "blow any dot out of the water". I have to admit that I thought he was just trying to make a pitch, but he was definitely right because I've yet to run into a dot that can get anywhere near this Peavey's tone. I do like the big neck on the dots though, and this one is a bit smaller. That's kind of a preference thing, but the dot's electronics are by anyone's ears inferior. (Not hating on the dot because I've played a few good ones).
              This is a great guitar for just about anyone because it's obviously not a 1500-3000 range vintage 335 or anything but it would be extremely difficult to find a guitar with this overall quality for under a thousand and they are selling new for less than 40% of that. I'm sure you can find a used one for even less. I would highly recommend this for a serious/more advanced student or gigging musician who knows the difference and can appreciate the quality but who can not or does not want to pay a lot for a guitar to play in smokey, hazardous venues. Additionally, there are some solid jazz tones for all of the guitar ensemble/jazz combo players out there who are looking for a new semi-hollow that can go straight from school to a garage band grunge practice. Additionally, this thing absolutely kills when playing the blues.
              Thanks for taking the time to read through this review and I wish you luck on your search for a new guitar!

              Comment on this review

              (10 of 10 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Great value. Easily modded.

              By Magic

              from little rock, ar

              About Me Experienced

              Ask me a question

              Pros

              • Good Feel
              • Quality construction

              Cons

                Best Uses

                  Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

                  Look, this is an inexpensive guitar. The criticisms I see of this thing surprise me. You can't compare it to a pricey Gibson. However -- however -- IF you take the time to set it up properly, and also switch out the pickups and pots, you wind up with an excellent guitar that compares favorably with the Gibson. Think of it as a project at first. The construction is fine, and, if you play with a lot of distortion, you can live with the existing pickups. But, if you want real variation in tone, replace the pickups with some Seymour Duncan hum buckers, and get push-pull pots from Stewart-MacDonald. The result? You have a Gibson 345 blues/jazz/rock guitar for very little. How good is that? Very. Because you now have a great playing guitar with tons of tone, AND a lot of money unspent.

                  Comment on this review

                  (13 of 15 customers found this review helpful)

                   
                  2.0

                  Misleading Picture, Poor Quality

                  By Weekend Warrior

                  from Woodstock, GA

                  About Me Professional Musician

                  Ask me a question

                  Pros

                  • Packed well

                  Cons

                  • Not as pictured
                  • Poor Quality Craftsmanship

                  Best Uses

                  • Unplayable

                  Comments about Peavey JF-1 Hollowbody Guitar:

                  Had heard so many good things about this guitar, I decided to give it a try. I own a number of solid body guitars and wanted a semi-hollow to round out the collection. Got a good price from MFI and was happy about the deal...then the guitar arrived. First off, it was not as pictured on MFI's web site. The head stock and the inlays were different and the finish was more solid red, not showing the wood flame. There were also a number of major issues with the quality of the guitar which really surprised me based on the reviews I'd read here on other sites. The frets were covered with corrosion and rust spots, as well as the strings. There were several frets that had lifted along the fingerboard edge with sharp ends. Strings are easily and cheaply replaced, however, the fret issue was a real problem. Something also looked odd about the way the strings lined up on the TOM bridge. At closer inspection, I noticed that the stop bar was installed off center a full 1/8 inch. At this point, I'd made up my mind this guitar was going back. I didn't even want to plug it in to see how it sounded. Sorry to post such a negative review and if you decide to buy this guitar, I sincerely hope you have a better experience.

                  Comment on this review

                  Displaying reviews 1-10

                  Back to top

                  Previous | Next »

                  You are changing the Ship-To country.

                  Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.