SAVE UP TO 15% OFF WITH COUPON: EXTENDED

MF MD HG Call Save
Rico Logo
SKU 
#462689 000775172

Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds 

  • Write a Review

Designed to resist moisture and climate changes, Plasticover is ideal for use in outdoor ensembles such as marching band, and for doublers who need t...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

Please Select an Option  
  • Strength 3 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Strength 3 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000775172", "displaySku": "462689 000775172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000775172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Strength 2.5 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Strength 2.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000827172", "displaySku": "462689 000827172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000827172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Strength 3.5 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Strength 3.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000828172", "displaySku": "462689 000828172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000828172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Strength 2 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Strength 2 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000952805", "displaySku": "462689 000952805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000952805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Strength 1.5 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Strength 1.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000959805", "displaySku": "462689 000959805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000959805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Strength 4 Box of 5

    $18.39 Top Rated

    Ships By 3/10/17

    { "name": "Strength 4 Box of 5", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 03-10-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "03-10-2017", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,2400002,12 Months Promotional Financing,02/22/2017,No Interest if paid in full within 12‑months* promotional financing available valid through ,18.39,true", "msrp": 36.00, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000953805", "displaySku": "462689 000953805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000953805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }

CHOOSE YOUR EXACT INSTRUMENT

  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Your Price :
    $1839.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List
Musician's Friend BackStage Pass

Earn up to 144 reward points.

See All Rico Alto Saxophone Reeds
OVERVIEW

Coated for durability and consistency

Designed to resist moisture and climate changes, Plasticover is ideal for use in outdoor ensembles such as marching band, and for doublers who need to make quick changes between instruments. Whether in moist tropics or in desert heat, Plasticover responds instantly. The durable coating also provides a clear, projecting tone, making Plasticover a favorite with jazz, studio and pop musicians.

FEATURES
  • Coated with plastic to resist changes in moisture and climate
  • Coating provides durability and clear tone
  • Most flexible grade of cane for instant response
  • French-filed for fast response
Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
RicoPlasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds
 
4.6

(based on 15 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (13)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

91%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Improves sound (9)
  • Easy to use (7)
  • Good quality (6)
  • Functional (5)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Concerts (6)
  • Back-up (5)
  • Practicing (5)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Professional musician (6), Experienced (4)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

I would buy this product again and again

I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Inconsistant

I purchased a box of the Plasitcover Alto 2 strength reeds which were comperable to the La Voz medium soft which I use. Out of the box of 5 reeds, only 1 were...Read complete review

I purchased a box of the Plasitcover Alto 2 strength reeds which were comperable to the La Voz medium soft which I use. Out of the box of 5 reeds, only 1 were usable at best. Very Inconsistant for the others were very hard. I double between saxes and often times my normal reed warps so this sounds like a great idea but much too expensive to purchase a box for possibly one decent one.

Reviewed by 15 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
5.0

So far, so good!

By New Player

from Maryland

About Me Child

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Easy To Use

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Backup
    • Concerts
    • New Players
    • Practicing

    Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

    Sound vibrates easily, a bit louder and stronger than without the plastic. As a young, new player, the uncoated reeds were more fragile and had variable sound quality depending on how wet/prepared it was before being placed in the ligature.

     
    5.0

    Excellent reed for volume.

    By John L

    from Macon, GA

    About Me Professional Musician

    See all my reviews

    Ask me a question

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Easy To Use
    • Helps to produce more volume, edge, brightness.
    • Improves Sound

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • I question the quality of the cane used.

      Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

      If your gig is a smooth jazz or classical I might not recommend a plasticover reed. If you are dealing with loud guitars in a rock & roll setting then this reed will help along with your mic being up in the mix. The main things about this reed is the volume, edge and brightness that is will produce on a gig that requires this type of tone along with "attitude". Be it rock, funk, perhaps big band and so on. I have found that they also produce a fuller tone with a wide tip m/p. Some purists are negative about the tone of a plasticover. Again, it depends on your gig. I do have an issue with the quality of these reeds. Just like cane reeds, there may be 2 or 3 in a box of 5 that really respond well. I usually purchase several boxes at a time knowing that a fair number will not produce the volume and edge. But when you do get good ones you will be heard provided that you are using strong and fast air support.

       
      5.0

      Recommended

      By Ernesto

      from undisclosed

      Verified Buyer

      Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

      Excellent reed, I'm a begginer player and love it

       
      5.0

      Really like these reeds

      By Denny

      from Inwood, WV

      About Me Experienced

      See all my reviews

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Easy To Use
      • Functional
      • Good Quality
      • Improves Sound

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Backup
        • Concerts
        • Practicing

        Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

        These reeds are very consistent. Don't think I ever had a bad one. They add a bit of edge to the sound. So if want less edge I go with a Hemke.

         
        5.0

        Excellent Reed

        By Donald

        from undisclosed

        About Me Experienced

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Easy To Use
        • Functional
        • Good Quality
        • Improves Sound

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Backup
          • Concerts
          • Practicing

          Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

          I've used this for so long I can't recall when I started. Once in a while I switch to all wood, high level brands but always just to make sure something new hasn't come online. Rico is the winner and their plastic reed is the best.

          (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Thanks!

          By JoeTeach123

          from Cedar Rapids, IA-Chicago, IL-St. Pete, F

          About Me Professional Musician

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

          • Easy To Use
          • Functional
          • Good Quality
          • Improves Sound

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Backup
            • Concerts
            • Practicing

            Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

            These reeds continually get a bad rap from folks who have never even tried them or heard of them. They are GREAT for all styles and THE MOST CONSISTANT reeds I have ever used. Since first discovering them over 15 years ago, I have only had to discard 3 reeds. I typically discard 3 reeds per box of 10 of the "superior" reeds. Thanks again for being there!

             
            5.0

            PLASTICOVER ALTO SAXOPHONE REEDS

            By John L

            from Macon, GA

            About Me Professional Musician

            See all my reviews

            Ask me a question

            Pros

            • Improves Sound

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Backup

              Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

              Like most reeds, you need to buy several boxes of plasticovers at a time to get a number of real good responsive reeds to last for several gigs. Excellent for the rock & roll gigs when you want something with edge to cut through.

              I would not use them for concert music or if you are playing real laid back gig.

              (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Rico plasticover reed

              By John L

              from Macon, GA

              About Me Professional Musician

              See all my reviews

              Ask me a question

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Improves Sound

              Cons

                Best Uses

                  Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                  If you are playing a lot of rock & roll style gigs and need some extra volume these reeds can help get you there. The coating also helps to produce a little of the gritty tone and edge that fits well in the rock/funk style. And some jazz players also like the results. I do not recommend them for concert band. You might want to buy several boxes at a time because the % of reeds that respond real good can be limited in any one box. This of course is no different than any brand of reed since it is natural cane. I have also tried the various synthetic reeds for the rock gig but have never played one that produces the tone that I prefer for this work. All in all a good reed for a little extra volume and a brighter tone.

                  (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                   
                  5.0

                  I would buy this product again and again

                  By Sax57

                  from Pleasanton, Texas

                  About Me Professional Musician

                  See all my reviews

                  Ask me a question

                  Verified Buyer

                  Pros

                  • Easy To Use
                  • Functional
                  • Good Quality
                  • Improves Sound
                  • They Are The Best

                  Cons

                  • No Cons

                  Best Uses

                  • For My Live Performances
                  • Good Every Time

                  Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                  I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

                  (2 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

                   
                  3.0

                  Careful! These are stiffer reeds!

                  By Mike

                  from Yorktown, VA

                  About Me Experienced

                  See all my reviews

                  Pros

                    Cons

                    • Not Functional

                    Best Uses

                      Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                      I had played #3 Fibracell on Alto and Soprano for years and decided to try Plasticover. I received my reeds and tried them on both horns, only to discover that #3 Plasticover was at least a 3 1/2 if not a 4.

                      Displaying reviews 1-10

                      Back to top

                      Previous | Next »

                      Ship To: US Flag
                      You are changing the Ship-To country.

                      Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.