Up to 25% Off Select Gear With Code: SPOOKY
Looking for Coupons?Call us Hablamos Español
MF MD HG Virginia No Tax
Rico Logo
Product 462689

Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds

  • Write a Review

Designed to resist moisture and climate changes, Plasticover is ideal for use in outdoor ensembles such as marching band, and for doublers who need t...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

  • { "name": "Strength 4 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 19.29, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,19.29,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 19.29, "listPrice": 19.29, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000953805", "displaySku": "462689 000953805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000953805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"152", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • { "name": "Strength 3 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,18.39,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000775172", "displaySku": "462689 000775172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000775172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • { "name": "Strength 2.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,18.39,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000827172", "displaySku": "462689 000827172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000827172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • { "name": "Strength 3.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,18.39,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000828172", "displaySku": "462689 000828172", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000828172_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • { "name": "Strength 2 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,18.39,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000952805", "displaySku": "462689 000952805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000952805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • { "name": "Strength 1.5 Box of 5", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 18.39, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,4300001,12 Months Promotional Financing,11/01/2017,Special 12-month financing. Valid through,18.39,true", "msrp": 37.75, "salePrice": 18.39, "listPrice": 18.39, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": false, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku462689000959805", "displaySku": "462689 000959805", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/462689000959805_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"144", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Regular Price:
    $18.39 - $19.29
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Starting At:
    $1839.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 152 reward points.

See All Rico Alto Saxophone Reeds
OVERVIEW

Coated for durability and consistency

Designed to resist moisture and climate changes, Plasticover is ideal for use in outdoor ensembles such as marching band, and for doublers who need to make quick changes between instruments. Whether in moist tropics or in desert heat, Plasticover responds instantly. The durable coating also provides a clear, projecting tone, making Plasticover a favorite with jazz, studio and pop musicians.

FEATURES
Coated with plastic to resist changes in moisture and climate
Coating provides durability and clear tone
Most flexible grade of cane for instant response
French-filed for fast response
Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
RicoPlasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds
 
4.4

(based on 18 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (15)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (2)

86%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Improves sound (9)
  • Good quality (8)
  • Easy to use (7)
  • Functional (6)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Concerts (7)
  • Practicing (6)
  • Back-up (5)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Professional musician (7), Experienced (6)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

I would buy this product again and again

I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Inconsistant

I purchased a box of the Plasitcover Alto 2 strength reeds which were comperable to the La Voz medium soft which I use. Out of the box of 5 reeds, only 1 were...Read complete review

I purchased a box of the Plasitcover Alto 2 strength reeds which were comperable to the La Voz medium soft which I use. Out of the box of 5 reeds, only 1 were usable at best. Very Inconsistant for the others were very hard. I double between saxes and often times my normal reed warps so this sounds like a great idea but much too expensive to purchase a box for possibly one decent one.

Reviewed by 18 customers

Displaying reviews 1-18

Back to top

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Killer Reeds!

By Anonymous

from Undisclosed

Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

These reeds are great. Plastic Cover is the only cain reed that is truly a tad brighter and buzzier sounding. They do not swell nearly as much as other cain reeds. In other words, you can play the reed for an hour without having to take it off and stroke it with a razor blade to get it flat again. Pretty consistant and they last longer than most reeds. Definently give'em a try.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Rico plasticover reed

By John L

from Macon, GA

About Me Professional Musician

See all my reviews

Ask me a question

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Improves Sound

Cons

    Best Uses

      Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

      If you are playing a lot of rock & roll style gigs and need some extra volume these reeds can help get you there. The coating also helps to produce a little of the gritty tone and edge that fits well in the rock/funk style. And some jazz players also like the results. I do not recommend them for concert band. You might want to buy several boxes at a time because the % of reeds that respond real good can be limited in any one box. This of course is no different than any brand of reed since it is natural cane. I have also tried the various synthetic reeds for the rock gig but have never played one that produces the tone that I prefer for this work. All in all a good reed for a little extra volume and a brighter tone.

      (2 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

       
      3.0

      Careful! These are stiffer reeds!

      By Mike

      from Yorktown, VA

      About Me Experienced

      See all my reviews

      Pros

        Cons

        • Not Functional

        Best Uses

          Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

          I had played #3 Fibracell on Alto and Soprano for years and decided to try Plasticover. I received my reeds and tried them on both horns, only to discover that #3 Plasticover was at least a 3 1/2 if not a 4.

          (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Review

          By 9_Zjfgd9l

          from South Texas

          Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

          Great for playing in cold weather. Compared to other reeds you don't have to file these down. They let the sound come out instantly. I love these plasticover!

          (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Thanks!

          By JoeTeach123

          from Cedar Rapids, IA-Chicago, IL-St. Pete, F

          About Me Professional Musician

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

          • Easy To Use
          • Functional
          • Good Quality
          • Improves Sound

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Backup
            • Concerts
            • Practicing

            Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

            These reeds continually get a bad rap from folks who have never even tried them or heard of them. They are GREAT for all styles and THE MOST CONSISTANT reeds I have ever used. Since first discovering them over 15 years ago, I have only had to discard 3 reeds. I typically discard 3 reeds per box of 10 of the "superior" reeds. Thanks again for being there!

            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

             
            5.0

            I would buy this product again and again

            By Sax57

            from Pleasanton, Texas

            About Me Professional Musician

            See all my reviews

            Ask me a question

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Easy To Use
            • Functional
            • Good Quality
            • Improves Sound
            • They Are The Best

            Cons

            • No Cons

            Best Uses

            • For My Live Performances
            • Good Every Time

            Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

            I have used Rico Royal, Vandorn and other name brands in the past. Rico Plasticover reeds give me the best quality sound I need to perform at a professional level...

             
            5.0

            Consistent

            By Stefano

            from Greensboro, NC

            About Me Experienced

            See all my reviews

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Good Quality

            Cons

              Best Uses

                Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                Good compromise. Bright, open sound and consistent for long time.

                 
                1.0

                Very unhappy

                By Monty

                from Montana

                About Me Professional Musician

                Pros

                  Cons

                  • Not Functional

                  Best Uses

                    Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                    Bought a box of 5 for my alto and not a one of them plays. No good!

                     
                    5.0

                    worked better than regular cane reeds

                    By moosqi26

                    from Burlington, VT

                    About Me Experienced

                    Verified Buyer

                    Pros

                    • Functional
                    • Good Quality
                    • help cut down moisture in mouthpiece

                    Cons

                      Best Uses

                      • Concerts
                      • Practicing

                      Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                      I ordered these for my alto clarinet and they were a bit too wide. I carefully shaved off a thin strip from one side, then rounded the corner with a nail file. These truly helped the issues I've been having with a 50+ year old instrument, and help keep the moisture build-up in the mouthpiece to a minimum.

                       
                      5.0

                      So far, so good!

                      By New Player

                      from Maryland

                      About Me Child

                      Verified Buyer

                      Pros

                      • Easy To Use

                      Cons

                        Best Uses

                        • Backup
                        • Concerts
                        • New Players
                        • Practicing

                        Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                        Sound vibrates easily, a bit louder and stronger than without the plastic. As a young, new player, the uncoated reeds were more fragile and had variable sound quality depending on how wet/prepared it was before being placed in the ligature.

                         
                        5.0

                        Excellent reed for volume.

                        By John L

                        from Macon, GA

                        About Me Professional Musician

                        See all my reviews

                        Ask me a question

                        Verified Buyer

                        Pros

                        • Easy To Use
                        • Helps to produce more volume, edge, brightness.
                        • Improves Sound

                        Cons

                          Best Uses

                          • I question the quality of the cane used.

                          Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                          If your gig is a smooth jazz or classical I might not recommend a plasticover reed. If you are dealing with loud guitars in a rock & roll setting then this reed will help along with your mic being up in the mix. The main things about this reed is the volume, edge and brightness that is will produce on a gig that requires this type of tone along with "attitude". Be it rock, funk, perhaps big band and so on. I have found that they also produce a fuller tone with a wide tip m/p. Some purists are negative about the tone of a plasticover. Again, it depends on your gig. I do have an issue with the quality of these reeds. Just like cane reeds, there may be 2 or 3 in a box of 5 that really respond well. I usually purchase several boxes at a time knowing that a fair number will not produce the volume and edge. But when you do get good ones you will be heard provided that you are using strong and fast air support.

                           
                          5.0

                          Recommended

                          By Ernesto

                          from undisclosed

                          Verified Buyer

                          Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                          Excellent reed, I'm a begginer player and love it

                           
                          5.0

                          Really like these reeds

                          By Denny

                          from Inwood, WV

                          About Me Experienced

                          See all my reviews

                          Verified Buyer

                          Pros

                          • Easy To Use
                          • Functional
                          • Good Quality
                          • Improves Sound

                          Cons

                            Best Uses

                            • Backup
                            • Concerts
                            • Practicing

                            Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                            These reeds are very consistent. Don't think I ever had a bad one. They add a bit of edge to the sound. So if want less edge I go with a Hemke.

                             
                            5.0

                            Excellent Reed

                            By Donald

                            from undisclosed

                            About Me Experienced

                            See all my reviews

                            Pros

                            • Easy To Use
                            • Functional
                            • Good Quality
                            • Improves Sound

                            Cons

                              Best Uses

                              • Backup
                              • Concerts
                              • Practicing

                              Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                              I've used this for so long I can't recall when I started. Once in a while I switch to all wood, high level brands but always just to make sure something new hasn't come online. Rico is the winner and their plastic reed is the best.

                               
                              5.0

                              PLASTICOVER ALTO SAXOPHONE REEDS

                              By John L

                              from Macon, GA

                              About Me Professional Musician

                              See all my reviews

                              Ask me a question

                              Pros

                              • Improves Sound

                              Cons

                                Best Uses

                                • Backup

                                Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                                Like most reeds, you need to buy several boxes of plasticovers at a time to get a number of real good responsive reeds to last for several gigs. Excellent for the rock & roll gigs when you want something with edge to cut through.

                                I would not use them for concert music or if you are playing real laid back gig.

                                 
                                5.0

                                Great Company

                                By saxy player

                                from Indianapolis

                                About Me Professional Musician

                                Pros

                                • Easy To Use
                                • Good Quality
                                • Improves Sound

                                Cons

                                • None

                                Best Uses

                                • Concerts
                                • Practicing
                                • Professional Appearances

                                Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                                First order was 16 years ago! Good products with good prices and excellent communication when necessary. Highly recommend Musician's Friend

                                 
                                5.0

                                Excellent!

                                By Court

                                from North Jackson, OH

                                About Me Experienced

                                Pros

                                • Already Broken In
                                • Can Play Louder
                                • Functional
                                • Good Quality
                                • Improves Sound

                                Cons

                                  Best Uses

                                  • Concerts
                                  • Jazz Band
                                  • Marching Band

                                  Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                                  I bought a box of these for my alma mater's Alumni Night. I wish I would have had these while I was in school. The sound is so crisp and vibrant! And you can play a lot louder without compromising quality of sound. I always used Rico Royals, and now I'll be using these. Totally recommend these to anyone in a marching or jazz band, and even concert band.

                                   
                                  1.0

                                  Inconsistant

                                  By Christian Russo

                                  from Dallas, Texas

                                  See all my reviews

                                  Ask me a question

                                  Comments about Rico Plasticover Alto Saxophone Reeds:

                                  I purchased a box of the Plasitcover Alto 2 strength reeds which were comperable to the La Voz medium soft which I use. Out of the box of 5 reeds, only 1 were usable at best. Very Inconsistant for the others were very hard. I double between saxes and often times my normal reed warps so this sounds like a great idea but much too expensive to purchase a box for possibly one decent one.

                                  Displaying reviews 1-18

                                  Back to top

                                  You are changing the Ship-To country.

                                  Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.