• Gift Certificate
  • Track Order
  • Help
  • Feedback [+]
  • Ship To: US Flag
  • Shop by Department
  • Hot Deals

MF MD HG July Financing 7-22-14

DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings  

  • Write a Review
SKU 
#101169000000000
Best Seller

Overview

  • Gauges 10-13-17-26-36-46
  • The latest in coated technology for increased tonal life
Description & Specs
  • MSRP:
    $20.55
  • Your Savings:
    - $11.38
  • Your Price:
    $917

In Stock & Ready To Ship

+ Add to Wish List
See All DR Strings .010 Gauge Electric Guitar Strings
DR Strings

K3T Black Beauties coated electric guitar strings on hexagonal core.

DRs EXTRA-Life Black Beauties offer guitar players a superior black coated string without sacrificing the crisp tone, clarity, and volume of traditional DR HandMade Strings. EXTRA-Life is a super thin advanced .0003" coating on the plain electric guitar strings and on the wrap wire for added protection.

DR's remarkable, and proprietary, patent pending K3T Technology Coating is the first coating that makes no apologies and no excuses. Players say these strings have less unwanted overtones, more volume, great clarity and articulation than standard uncoated strings. Yet, they provide the same protection against corrosion due to humidity and perspiration as well as the increased tonal life coated strings have come to be known for.

Gauges 10-13-17-26-36-46.

Features

  • Gauges 10-13-17-26-36-46
  • The latest in coated technology for increased tonal life

Get extra life and improved playability from these black beauties. Order today.

 

Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings Specifications:

  • Gauges 10-13-17-26-36-46
Customer Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot®

by PowerReviews
DR StringsExtra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings
 
3.9

(based on 45 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (28)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (7)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Cry-Babies!

I find it hard to believe that so many people blame evryone else for their problems, installed by a professional or not, usually when a new string breaks it's because of the way they...Read complete review

I find it hard to believe that so many people blame evryone else for their problems, installed by a professional or not, usually when a new string breaks it's because of the way they were installed! Thesed are really good strings and I have used a lot of others. Mostly I find these strings of very good quality, tightly wound, and the sound is not twangy at all on the high e string like some products. Over all very good strings, sound is good and yes even if you don't play that much, which I play every day, you should think about changing strings every month. If you didn't want to spend money on strings you shouldn't have picked an electric guitar for your instrument! Their is a cost to playing, especially if you like to bend strings all the time and play heavy metal. DR hand winds their strings by the way, check it out cry baby!

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Horrid!

I bought four sets of these one time. I got my guitar professionally setup for this gauge, and hoping they would be what everyone was raving. Not only they sounded duller and lifeless,...Read complete review

I bought four sets of these one time. I got my guitar professionally setup for this gauge, and hoping they would be what everyone was raving. Not only they sounded duller and lifeless, they felt cheap and the high e string broke after an hour of playing. I was disappointed. On another guitar, the high e broke again with that set, and the D string and G string after bending. The ball ends kept getting undone. I was utterly disappointed, and wanted my money back. I couldn't get my cash back and I tried contacting DR. Not a single reply to emails or calls.Many people buy these because of the color. The color does not mean crap if they are inconsistent. DR got into the business by purchasing 60's era string winding machines, which also explained the incosistent sets. I wasted my money, which long ago would of been able to buy me 12 sets of Ernie Ball, which could last me a year. For the DR I bought, all of them, not even a month. I would say, if you like these, good, but to me they're not worth the price. There's a reason why 60's winding machines were about to be discontinued. I guess DR got into the hype by labeling their strings "handmade" and buying the old string winders at an auction. Its not handmade, its "hand guided" for the way the string winding machines work is by a person holding the string while the machine winds it. the tension is very loose which can loosen the ball end and fall apart. I will never buy these again.

Reviewed by 45 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
1.0

Tone as lifeless as strings are black

By JohnnyThunder

from Vancouver

About Me Professional Musician

Pros

    Cons

    • Poor Tone Quality

    Best Uses

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      After using Pure Blues on all my electrics I felt compelled to give the Black Beauties the ole college try on my Martin D-28. A major disappointment is about all I can say; the longevity of the strings are unremarkable for a product that boasts "extra life." Novelty item at best due to the black color of the product but nothing but dull, lifeless and utterly muddy tone.

      Comment on this review

      (0 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

       
      1.0

      Break easily

      By Seth Bilderaya

      from haha yeah right

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      Overall these strings are better for beginner guitarist.
      I got these strings for a Hohner acoustic guitar, which I'm using for a class and for general use, and the 1st string, or E string, broke a few days after I got them. I wouldn't recommend them, only because no strings should break 3 to 4 days after using them daily.. I would recommend D'Addario's or Martin.
      They were alright for quality, but the string broke.
      Nah.

      Comment on this review

       
      4.0

      Jazzenth

      By Jazzenth

      from California

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      Overall, these are a quality product. Other reviewers may have had problems with them. My advice to beginners: learn how to properly string and set up a guitar. I have used them for more than a year and have had no problems what so ever.
      I love the feel of these strings. Since my main interest is jazz, these strings let the bright tones ring without the metalic twang you get from almost all steel round wound strings. Like another reviewer, I use these on a Carvin DC400 and they give a whole new dimension to playing a solid body guitar. On my Gibson L5, they sound brighter and add a bit more clarity than the flat wound strings I was using before.
      Since I play for more than a coulpe hours a day including night club gigs, these seem to last a bit longer that most as far as tone and clarity go. I have to change strings often so my experience may be different from those who don't play as much.
      They cost a bit more than most people like to pay but I think they are worth every penny.

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      4.0

      Black beauties,red devils,hi-defs ....... DR's are good quality ......

      By michael archer

      from s.philly

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      All of the DR coated strings i have used sound,feel and play great .... Extended life,long lasting, are claims that seem misleading from any string manufacturer,personally i know that any strings that are used on my guitars are going to go thru heck and die within 2 weeks maybe 3 maximum depending on how many different guitars im torturing in that time period ..... All in all i dig the sound and love the feel of DR strings in general ..... Do i recommend them ? Yes,to everyone !!! A great value ? Not neccasarily,but i still pay for them ........... I use them more then any other strings,more for the way feel then any other reason .....

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      BKE-10 Black Beauties Coated Electric Guitar Strings

      By William McKissick

      from Mississippi

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      These are some of the best string I have ever used. They are very smooth and are easy to chord. The sound is incredible that you get from them. Very smooth sound.

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      1.0

      Love Em' !!!

      By Neal Emery

      from California

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      I needed to replace my well worn strings on my Schecter Hellraiser. I asked a good friend of mine who has a very popular band what stings he recommended. He told me he used DR blues strings. When I went to purchase them, I noticed the Black Beauties. I thought they would look better on my red flame top.
      I expected a little quality increase over my old strings, but was I ever surprised! I could not believe how bright and clear the new strings sounded! It was like I bought a whole new guitar. The black does wear off at the point of pick contact, but other than that, they look killer on my rig and I couldn't have asked for better tone. Will definantly purchase again!

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Great strings!

      By Bcshredder

      from Undisclosed

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      These strings are great. Even the heavier guage bend easily. The sounds is awesome. They are lightning fast. If you want great sounding strings drop your EBs kick out a little extra cash to make your guitar sound the way it was meant to sound.

      Comment on this review

       
      1.0

      .010 Black Beauties are a no show in sound!

      By Guildguy-8N7j2

      from Garfield, NM

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      These are the worst strings I have ever heard. The only reason I can imagine DR put these on the market was to bilk some players so their investment would not be a total loss. They sound flat, and no wonder, with all that black gunk on them. These do not vibrate properly so stay away!

      Comment on this review

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Black Beauties

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      Having been a fan of many other DR String series (Pure Blues, Hi-Beam, Tite-Fit, Sunbeam) for years, I decided to try out their coated strings. Coated strings seem to have all of the answers for a guitar player who is a) busy, b) acidic, and c) sick of dead strings. Problem is, many times the "coating" sacrifices tone, playability, and feel.DR's Extra Life strings impressed me. The back of the box tells me I won't be spared of tone or playability. They were right. And the strings DO feel different, but in a good way. They seem to "grip" your fingers while retaining a certain slickness. It's very different really - not for everyone mind you, but I like them. Bending ability is terrific, the sponginess/bounciness is there, and to top it off they look sharp on my Schecter C1+. The tone is signature DR - clear, responsive, harmonically rich. I highly recommend DR Extra Life strings. I'll be putting a set on my Strat soon, hopefully.

      Comment on this review

      (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

       
      4.0

      Cry-Babies!

      By experienced-gqndR

      from Small town Oregon

      Comments about DR Strings Extra Life BKE-10 Black Beauties Medium Coated Electric Guitar Strings:

      I find it hard to believe that so many people blame evryone else for their problems, installed by a professional or not, usually when a new string breaks it's because of the way they were installed! Thesed are really good strings and I have used a lot of others. Mostly I find these strings of very good quality, tightly wound, and the sound is not twangy at all on the high e string like some products. Over all very good strings, sound is good and yes even if you don't play that much, which I play every day, you should think about changing strings every month. If you didn't want to spend money on strings you shouldn't have picked an electric guitar for your instrument! Their is a cost to playing, especially if you like to bend strings all the time and play heavy metal. DR hand winds their strings by the way, check it out cry baby!

      Comment on this review

      Displaying reviews 1-10

      Back to top

      Previous | Next »

      You are changing the Ship-To country.

      Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.