• Gift Certificate
  • Track Order
  • Help
  • Feedback [+]
  • Ship To: US Flag
  • Shop All Categories
  • Hot Deals

MF MD HG Exclusives 09-19-14

Carl Fischer Ayres (for Soprano Saxophone and Piano)  

  • Write a Review
Carl Fischer

Elizabethan melodies for soprano saxophone.

Katherine Hoover chose to arrange three Elizabethan lute songs by English Renaissance composer John Dowland for soprano saxophone after she heard the instrument played in a cathedral and was struck by its beautiful vocal quality. From the composer: “I have treated [these songs] in somewhat varying ways; counterpoint in the first, some variations in the second, and rhythmic play in the last, always being informed by the original song and/or words. These songs were commonly called Airs, or ‘Ayres,’ in the spelling of the time.” Songs included are “I Can She Excuse My Wrongs,” “Weep No More Sad Fountains,” and “Fine Knacks for Ladies.” For advanced players.


Ayres (for Soprano Saxophone and Piano) Specifications:

  • Instrumentation: soprano saxophone, piano
Customer Reviews
You are changing the Ship-To country.

Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.