Mic Month: Savings, Special Offers and More Shop Now
Looking for Coupons?Call us 800-449-9128 Hablamos Español  
MF MD HG Call & Save
Rogue Logo
Product 519190

Rogue Classic Spider Resonator  Sunburst Roundneck

  • Write a Review

The die-cast spider bridge and 10-1/2" spun aluminum resonator cone give it exceptional projection and volume. Constructed with a spruce top; mahogan...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

Please Select a Style...  
  • Sunburst Roundneck

    $229.99 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Sunburst Roundneck", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 229.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,229.99,false", "msrp": 479.99, "salePrice": 229.99, "listPrice": 229.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku519190000056861", "displaySku": "519190 000056861", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/519190000056861_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,840", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Sunburst Squareneck

    $229.99 Top Rated

    In stock

    { "name": "Sunburst Squareneck", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 229.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,229.99,false", "msrp": 479.99, "salePrice": 229.99, "listPrice": 229.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku519190000056862", "displaySku": "519190 000056862", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/519190000056862_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,840", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • Black Roundneck

    $229.99 Top Rated

    Ships By 5/9/17

    { "name": "Black Roundneck", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 05-09-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "05-09-2017", "price": 229.99, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,229.99,false", "msrp": 479.99, "salePrice": 229.99, "listPrice": 229.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","flexibleFinancing","guarantee","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": false, "sku": "site1sku519190000001861", "displaySku": "519190 000001861", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/519190000001861_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,840", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
  • (Most Popular)
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Your Price :
    $22999.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 1,840 reward points.

See All Rogue Resonators
OVERVIEW

Wood body and traditional shape for fantastic tone.

The die-cast spider bridge and 10-1/2" spun aluminum resonator cone give it exceptional projection and volume. Constructed with a spruce top; mahogany back, sides, and neck; and rosewood fretboard. Mother-of-pearl diamond fretboard inlays, a chromeplated bell, and brass coverplate and tailpiece give it authentic looks.

FEATURES
  • Roundneck or squareneck
  • Spruce top
  • Mahogany back and sides
  • Die-cast spider bridge
  • Mother-of-pearl diamond position marker
  • 10-1/2" spun aluminum resonator
  • Chromeplated bell
  • Brass coverplate and tailpiece

Playing authentic bluegrass, country, or blues? Not without this resonator, you aren't. Order yours now.

Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
RogueClassic Spider Resonator
 
4.4

(based on 175 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (115)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (36)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (13)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (7)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (4)

91%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Good tone (46)
  • Consistent (28)
  • Well built / quality (23)
  • Long life (8)

Cons

  • Breaks easy (4)

Best Uses

  • Practicing (40)
  • Back-up (21)
  • Concerts (20)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Experienced (25), Professional musician (17), Novice (16)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Square neck Resonator

The guitar is a platform for development.You can use it for anything you desire.Many of the reviewers do not understand a resonator guitar.The nature of the guitar is such you must learn how to take...Read complete review

The guitar is a platform for development.You can use it for anything you desire.Many of the reviewers do not understand a resonator guitar.The nature of the guitar is such you must learn how to take care of a resonator.Any resonator can and will have buzzes and other sounds that you will need to know how to fix.The Rouge is a fine guitar that you can upgrade and turn it into a tip top guitar that has tone and sustain like the very best.Mine has a bone nut,ebony maple saddle and a Quarterman cone.The guitar sounds fantastic and plays and stays in tune.I did all the work myself and you can learn how to also.Get a DVD on resonator setup and you will become a happier learner.I have been playing since the 70s and have owned at least twenty different resonators and all needed a little tweaking at times.The Rouge is a fine guitar if the string buzzes learn to take care of it.You should know how to set the cone to the desired tone and volume you are looking for also.The resonator is very different type of guitar that can bring you great pleasure.The problem with your Rouge may be you.Go learn how to take care of your guitar.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Poorest quality instrument I've ever owned but cheaper than any starter dobro

So after about a year of learning to play the resonator on this instrument I think I'm ready to give it a review.

The Good: It looks great (on the outside)...Read complete review

So after about a year of learning to play the resonator on this instrument I think I'm ready to give it a review.

The Good: It looks great (on the outside) and sounds decent. In fact for the price it sounds awesome.

The Bad: From day one the thing has had this really terrible buzzing that would come and go. You can tell that the spider bridge is ridiculously poor quality. I tried muffling things, readjusting them and even put a piece of fleece under the tail. It didn't work but the buzzing did randomly go away for about 6 months.

The Ugly: The buzzing noise eventually came back and with vengeance. Today I totally disassembled the dobro only to uncover that this is the worst constructed instrument I've ever laid eyes on. There are jagged pieces of plywood, holes that look like they were cut out by a 5 year-old, and all manor of wood chips floating around inside that nobody cleaned out. Once I cleaned out the inside (as best I could) I gently reassembled all the pieces. While screwing the coverplate back on, I then discovered that at least 3 of the 12 screw holes were stripped.

You get what you pay for.
Typical low-end instrument
Pretty on the outside, monstrousity of broken plywood and glue on the inside.
Can't beat the price but you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by 175 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

(26 of 26 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Square neck Resonator

By Kitkatjoe

from Alabama

About Me Professional Musician

Pros

  • Good Tone
  • Strong

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Backup
    • Bluegrass
    • Classic Country
    • Concerts
    • Practicing

    Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

    The guitar is a platform for development.You can use it for anything you desire.Many of the reviewers do not understand a resonator guitar.The nature of the guitar is such you must learn how to take care of a resonator.Any resonator can and will have buzzes and other sounds that you will need to know how to fix.The Rouge is a fine guitar that you can upgrade and turn it into a tip top guitar that has tone and sustain like the very best.Mine has a bone nut,ebony maple saddle and a Quarterman cone.The guitar sounds fantastic and plays and stays in tune.I did all the work myself and you can learn how to also.Get a DVD on resonator setup and you will become a happier learner.I have been playing since the 70s and have owned at least twenty different resonators and all needed a little tweaking at times.The Rouge is a fine guitar if the string buzzes learn to take care of it.You should know how to set the cone to the desired tone and volume you are looking for also.The resonator is very different type of guitar that can bring you great pleasure.The problem with your Rouge may be you.Go learn how to take care of your guitar.

    (11 of 12 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    Make sure you set it up!

    By Wrangler

    from MS

    About Me Experienced

    Pros

    • Good Tone
    • Value

    Cons

    • Requires some setup

    Best Uses

      Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

      I bought this guitar after my new found love of Delta Blues. When I received it, I immediately tuned it up and started jammin. I was very disappointed at first. I had a buzz at the bridge on about 3 strings, and my top (lowest) string couldn't stay tuned to a "D". Being the avid DIY'er that I am, I disassembled the cone (jeweler's screwdrivers are awesome here), and found one part of the split saddle extremely loose. So I glued it and reassembled the cone. Then, I took apart the triangle cover piece on the head and decided to put a little tension on the truss rod. I figured that being the new guitar it was, it was probably shipped without any tension. Sure enough, it didn't have a lick of tension on it. So I turned it until I felt slight tension, and then turned it another 1/4 turned for good measure. I put the strings back on and sure enough, sounds phenomenal. Haven't been able to put it down since!

      (10 of 14 customers found this review helpful)

       
      2.0

      Poorest quality instrument I've ever owned but cheaper than any starter dobro

      By Cody-WLY-C

      from Fayetteville, AR

      See all my reviews

      Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

      So after about a year of learning to play the resonator on this instrument I think I'm ready to give it a review.

      The Good: It looks great (on the outside) and sounds decent. In fact for the price it sounds awesome.

      The Bad: From day one the thing has had this really terrible buzzing that would come and go. You can tell that the spider bridge is ridiculously poor quality. I tried muffling things, readjusting them and even put a piece of fleece under the tail. It didn't work but the buzzing did randomly go away for about 6 months.

      The Ugly: The buzzing noise eventually came back and with vengeance. Today I totally disassembled the dobro only to uncover that this is the worst constructed instrument I've ever laid eyes on. There are jagged pieces of plywood, holes that look like they were cut out by a 5 year-old, and all manor of wood chips floating around inside that nobody cleaned out. Once I cleaned out the inside (as best I could) I gently reassembled all the pieces. While screwing the coverplate back on, I then discovered that at least 3 of the 12 screw holes were stripped.

      You get what you pay for.
      Typical low-end instrument
      Pretty on the outside, monstrousity of broken plywood and glue on the inside.
      Can't beat the price but you get what you pay for.

      (9 of 10 customers found this review helpful)

       
      4.0

      Not bad for the price

      By Kokotele

      from Albany, NY

      See all my reviews

      Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

      This guitar is not going to make you sound like Jerry Douglas, but my guess is that if you're buying this guitar you probably wouldn't sound like Jerry on his guitar either.

      This guitar will make a good platform for mods like replacing the tuners and cone, and after doing so you'll have a very nice sounding and playing guitar for relatively little money. If it's still on sale for two bills, it's a good value. If it goes back up to three, invest in a Regal.
      Low end guitars these days are typically made pretty well, though they have supremely cheap hardware, and this guitar is no exception.

      The wood appears to be decent luan laminates (this is different than plywood. Plywood has cheap filler wood in the core, often with a paper-thin veneer on top for appearances. Luan is made of plies of hardwood. The top was made from 3 plies, and I assume the sides and back were the same.) The finish appears to be thin (already sinking into the grain), though there were several spots where it had obviously been touched up.

      The tuners are crap. The chrome hardware fits well, though has numerous little scratches that could not be buffed out. Many low end guitars have really cheap hardware that doesn't fit well, and soundhole screens are known to fall out. That doesn't appear to be the case here.
      It sounds like a resonator guitar and is cheap. What more could you ask for?

      (7 of 24 customers found this review helpful)

       
      1.0

      musician's friend doesn't cover setup

      By Jon

      from Pittsburgh

      About Me Professional Musician

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

        Cons

        • Poor Tone Quality

        Best Uses

        • Practicing

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        I bought a new guitar thinking that it wouldn't buzz. When I called to ask how they'd take care of it they simply said they don't take care of it so I had to pay an extra fifty at home to actually have a guitar. I wish I would have known this going in. It would have been easy for the salesperson to let me know but since they didn't and wouldn't statnd behind their product, I won't recommed Musician's Frend.

        (6 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Spider Squareneck

        By Da-Rodg

        from Pueblo, CO

        About Me Professional Musician

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Consistent
        • Good Tone
        • Sounds great
        • Strong

        Cons

        • Hard To Use Capo

        Best Uses

        • Concerts
        • Playing Bluescountry
        • Practicing

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        This a follow-up on a review I wrote about 4 years ago. For the money my Rogue can't be beat. Once I got it, I replaced the plastic nut with a bone one. Then I bought and installed a "Fishman Saddle Bridge" passive pick-up. Then I purchased a Fishman DI Box and Voila I have a great instrument. Now keep in mind the money I spent on the pick-up and the Di Box I could have put towards a more upscale model like a Regal or even a Dobro. It even may even seem excessive for an inexpensive Square neck; However,I would have spent that money anyway on enhancing those instruments just the same. Which at the time, my budget wouldn't have allowed it. The only drawback with the Rogue Square Neck is the string height does not allow to accommodate a capo.. I purchased a Shubb Resonator Capo before I replaced the original nut and you had to literally pick up each string to slide it in place. I even contacted Shubb and they said it should fit. Not so Musicians friend. The folks that design and manufacture these instruments for you should get with the capo manufacturers and fix this little detail. Other then that I've had countless hours jammin and havin a great time. Oh and I did have a problem with the first one that was shipped to me. It had a broken nut but I called Musicians Friend, explained the problem right away and they said to return it. They sent another out within a week. Bottom line is I got what I paid for and am happy I purchased my Rogue. Check out my video playin my Rogue.If you like, you can also follow our duo "HARVEST MOON": on Face Book.

        (6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Had for 5 years

        By Martin D-28

        from Massachusetts

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        I have had my square neck (black) for 5 years and have had only a few minor problems.1. The bridge broke and I had to replace it. I bought a nice solid nickel replacement.2.The nut cracked which is common as there is allot of pressure due the tuning of the instrument. I replaced the nut for a few dollars.I play it allot and it plays great. Tuning heads are good and the sound is great.I plan on buying a round neck model too.

        (5 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        This baby is LOUD and SWEET !

        By Brass Slowhand

        from Northshore of Lake Superior in MINNESOTA

        About Me Experienced

        Pros

        • Consistent
        • Good Tone
        • Hold Tuning Well
        • Loud Nice Steely Voice
        • Strong
        • Very Sharp Looker

        Cons

        • A Bit Heavy

        Best Uses

        • Any Time Any Where Ok
        • Concerts
        • Practicing

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        Here's my sampler at youtube for you.
        It is only a 30-second video:
        -----COPY & PASTE URL below-----
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJp8G9DeI6U&feature=youtu.be

        I started playing 4 years ago to quit smoking.
        I quit smoking and I now play guitars.
        Yes, I am an eldery military retired gent.
        I have a Lucille, two Brazilian Classicals,
        one old May-Bell laptop slider, an acoustic,
        a six-string banjo, and cheap Les Paul for
        daily beatings! I love guitars.
        And now the ROGUE spider roundneck !

        (5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

         
        4.0

        Great for the price

        By marshallRK

        from Portland, OR

        About Me Novice

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        Wanted a resonator to learn slide on and this seemed like the logical choice. I bought a backup tailpiece based on a number of reviews, but I don't think it will be needed, at least for a long time.

        Setup was quite good right out of the box, but I took it apart to inspect everything anyways. The spider was a bit sloppy with a lot of sharp edges where the metal leaked out of the cast, so I filed those down. There were also some splinters around the seat where the cone sits, so I sanded that down. Inside was fairly clean.

        The only really annoying thing was that the head of the screw used to adjust the tension on the cone was almost completey stripped. I found a replacement at the hardware store for a few pennies. Its a M3x0.5 screw by the way.

        Once the tension was adjusted correctly I had no buzzing issues.

        I replaced the strings right off the bat as well.

        I'm new to playing guitar, but I kind of wished there was a little more of that resonator 'twang' to the sound, but otherwise I think it sounds great.

        Just recently I added a tele neck pickup and associated knobs and jack. The installation was a breeze, except for figuring out how to ground the cone, cover plate, and strings, which are all electrically disconnected from each other. Without grounding them there was a lot of 60Hz hum and RF noise. The best way I could figure to resolve this was to ground the cone from bottom of the tension screw, then attach another wire from the top of the tension screw to the cover plate. It turns out that the cover plate does touch the strings and tailpiece, so that covered everything. Now it sounds great!

        (5 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Just what I wanted

        By pat morrison

        from Undisclosed

        Comments about Rogue Classic Spider Resonator:

        Get it!
        Wow! I'm stoked!!
        Ive been playing music for over 25 years and I can't believe how nice this instrument is for the $$$

        Displaying reviews 1-10

        Back to top

        Previous | Next »

        You are changing the Ship-To country.

        Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.