Ends today: Up to 15% Off Select Gear with ROCKSTAR
Looking for Coupons?Call us 800-449-9128 Hablamos Español
Accessories Sale -Final Day - 15% off qualifying orders $25 or more
Lucero Logo
Product 518978

Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar

  • Write a Review

The Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar features a laminated spruce top and mahogany back and sides. An excellent guitar for the beginner. Case sold separa...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

  • LC100 Classical Guitar Black

    $12999.00

    { "name": "Black", "status": "instock", "statusText": "In stock", "inventoryText": "In Stock & Ready To Ship", "inventoryKey": "in_stock", "price": 129.99, "isOnSale": false, "msrp": 259.99, "salePrice": 129.99, "listPrice": 129.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku518978000001000", "displaySku": "518978 000001000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/518978000001000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"1,040", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • LC100 Classical Guitar Natural

    $7999.00

    { "name": "Natural", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 10-04-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "10-04-2017", "price": 79.99, "isOnSale": true, "onSalePrice": 50.00, "msrp": 259.99, "salePrice": 79.99, "listPrice": 129.99, "wasPrice": 129.99, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","guarantee","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku518978000010000", "displaySku": "518978 000010000", "serialized": false, "stickerDesc":"Select Styles On Sale Now!", "stickerDisplayText":"Sale", "stickerClass":"stickerEmphasis", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/518978000010000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": true, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"640", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
  • (Most Popular)
  • Regular Price:
    $129.99
  • 2-Year Warranty
    FREE
  • On Sale Today:
    up to - $50.00
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Starting At:
    $7999.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 1,040 reward points.

See All Lucero Acoustic Classical & Nylon Guitars
OVERVIEW

An excellent instrument for the beginning classical player.

The Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar features a laminated spruce top and mahogany back and sides. An excellent guitar for the beginner. Case sold separately.

Check the drop-down menu to the right to select colors and/or other options.

FEATURES
  • Body Style: Classical
  • Top: Laminated Spruce
  • Back: Mahogany
  • Sides: Mahogany
  • Neck: Mahogany
  • Fingerboard: Rosewood
  • Bridge: Rosewood
  • Scale Length: 25-1/2"
  • No. of Frets: 18
  • Nut width: 1-15/16" (50mm)
  • Neck width at body: 2-5/16"
  • String Spacing at Saddle E-E: 2-5/16"
  • Binding: Black
  • Tuners: Chrome Slotted Head Open-Gear
  • Rosette: Classic
  • Fingerboard inlays: none
  • Width at Upper Bout: 11-1/8"
  • Width at Lower Bout: 14 5/8"
  • Maximum Depth: 4-1/8"
  • Finish: Natural Gloss
  • Case sold separately
Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
LuceroLC100 Classical Guitar
 
4.6

(based on 30 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (22)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (5)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

90%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

No Pros

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

No Best Uses
    • Was this a gift?:
    • No (6)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

The Best Start for a Classical Guitarist

If you're curious about Classical Guitar and want to give it a shot, this is the right guitar for you. This guitar is cheap, inexpensive, and will last for many years. I've...Read complete review

If you're curious about Classical Guitar and want to give it a shot, this is the right guitar for you. This guitar is cheap, inexpensive, and will last for many years. I've had mine for 4 years, and I still use it for practice as well as composing new songs to add to my setlist. I have also used my Lucero for performances, with the help of a microphone, and the crowd was still amazed at the sound it was producing. It has held up very well for a guitar that is billed for learning. If you're ready to take that first step into the world of Classical Guitar, then look no further. The Lucero LC100 is the perfect entry level guitar for any and all people interested in the art of Classical Guitar.
Not too heavy and not too light, the Lucero LC100 is the right shape and size for a Classical Guitar. The only problem I had with this guitar is the quality of the tuning heads that came with it. They were very delicate and were probably made of plastic. One of the tuning heads snapped after tuning the guitar during the first week of ownership. I had to go to a local guitar shop and buy replacement tuning heads. But think of this as part of the learning factor the Lucero 100 is advertising. As well as learning how to play a Classical Guitar, you can learn to fix and maintain a Classical Guitar. Fixing a guitar is a lot better than buying a brand new one for ten times the price.
I think the real value of this guitar doesn't show up in dollar signs, but when you sit down and let the notes of a beautiful Classical Guitar piece fly off the strings and into a crowd of people mesmerized by the sounds you're creating with a guitar that cost less than a late car payment.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

LC100 Classical guitar

Can't blame M.F.. They read the same advertisement I see. I was promised a nut width of 1-11/16. The nut is 2 inches. The only reason I ordered this guitar...Read complete review

Can't blame M.F.. They read the same advertisement I see. I was promised a nut width of 1-11/16. The nut is 2 inches. The only reason I ordered this guitar is because I hate a 2x4 neck. I am sure that M.F. will take care of the problem, but this add needs to be changed now!! There was also a major chip, and crack in the back. The tuners popped so loud that I quit trying to tune it. I would not start a child on this low quality. It might discourage them from playing. I see all the 5 star ratings. One reason I chose this. But Lucero needs to pick up their game at the Q.C. level.

Reviewed by 30 customers

Displaying reviews 1-20

Back to top

Previous | Next »

(14 of 14 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

The Best Start for a Classical Guitarist

By Aged Optimist

from Northwest Arkansas

See all my reviews

Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

If you're curious about Classical Guitar and want to give it a shot, this is the right guitar for you. This guitar is cheap, inexpensive, and will last for many years. I've had mine for 4 years, and I still use it for practice as well as composing new songs to add to my setlist. I have also used my Lucero for performances, with the help of a microphone, and the crowd was still amazed at the sound it was producing. It has held up very well for a guitar that is billed for learning. If you're ready to take that first step into the world of Classical Guitar, then look no further. The Lucero LC100 is the perfect entry level guitar for any and all people interested in the art of Classical Guitar.
Not too heavy and not too light, the Lucero LC100 is the right shape and size for a Classical Guitar. The only problem I had with this guitar is the quality of the tuning heads that came with it. They were very delicate and were probably made of plastic. One of the tuning heads snapped after tuning the guitar during the first week of ownership. I had to go to a local guitar shop and buy replacement tuning heads. But think of this as part of the learning factor the Lucero 100 is advertising. As well as learning how to play a Classical Guitar, you can learn to fix and maintain a Classical Guitar. Fixing a guitar is a lot better than buying a brand new one for ten times the price.
I think the real value of this guitar doesn't show up in dollar signs, but when you sit down and let the notes of a beautiful Classical Guitar piece fly off the strings and into a crowd of people mesmerized by the sounds you're creating with a guitar that cost less than a late car payment.

(10 of 10 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Better than a beginner

By Melvin McNichols

from Salem, OR

See all my reviews

Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

On the whole, it's a fine instrument and highly playable, with good tone and action.
This is a standard classical box with a laminated top; tuners are on the cheap side, but they work fine. It comes with a plastic nut and saddle; I replaced them with Tusq. (The standard classical size Tusq nut need a little bit of shaving to fit into the slot. The small Tusq saddle fits just right.)
This is not a beginner instrument; the fit and finish are outstanding, and with new high tension strings, it sings. Not up to my luthier-built custom job, but on the other hand, it's a lot cheaper.
I haven't played any instruments in the same price range for a number of years, so I have nothing to compare, but it is definitely a solid instrument.

(8 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Lucero for class guitar

By boonestunes

from Kentucky

Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

I bought a set of these last summer to use for my high school guitar class- 24 guitars, that get played 7 hours a day. They arrived in great condition, needed tuning, and lots of string stretching but that's the same for ANY classical guitar. With the exception of the strings that shipped on the guitar, they have been great in our classroom setting. Sound very good for $99 guitar, hold up very well to being played by 3-4 kids up to 7 hours each day. The only drawback is the strings that shipped on the guitars were pretty low quality. They started snapping the first week, and the ones that didn't snap were worn out by the 2nd week. But considering that they get played 7 hours a day, it's to be somewhat expected. I've recommended that my students buy these for home practice. Great value, just don't expect them to tune perfectly right out of the box, just like any other classical guitar.

(7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Excellent overall value, nice guitar

By VesuvioCafe

from Portland, OR

Pros

  • Full Bass Response
  • GREAT INTONATION
  • Solid Construction
  • Stays in tune

Cons

  • Horrible Factory Strings
  • Lack Of Projection
  • Not Much Brightness

Best Uses

  • Backup
  • Folk Music
  • Gigging
  • Practice
  • Student

Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

I've been playing for over 25 years, and I've played tons of guitars both good and bad over the years. This classical guitar is a surprising find, and well worth the money. I've been playing a lot of flamenco and classical the last few years, and I thought I'd try this Lucero out.

The first thing I noticed when I received this guitar was how bad the factory strings were. Do yourself a favor and order better strings from the start. I was pleasantly surprised at how good the intonation was all the way up and down the fretboard. No sour notes or bad frets.

Compared to high end classical guitars, this Lucero doesn't project well or sound as loud, and there's a definite lack of brilliance in the top end. But it also doesn't cost in the mid four figures.

After playing this bad boy awhile (and accidentally dropping it several times) I was amazed at how strong it is. It can definitely take a licking. I'd say it's perfect for the gigging folk musician, because it sounds great if you don't need a lot of treble, and can really take the rigors of the road.

Everyone should have at least one nylon string guitar, and this really fits the bill IMHO.

  • Was this a gift?:
  • No

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Great little guitar....

By mikey s

from orange county, ny

Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

i bought this guitar as a plinker that i could take to lake country without worrying about thrashing on....and was pleasantly suprised at how AWESOME it was. i play this guitar pick-style [i love willie nelson] and it has served me well. it stays in tune extremely well....i tuned it 4 days ago and went to tune it today...and it was still in tune. the only problem is that the plastic tuning knobs may pose a problem just on the grounds of durability. i have found a guitar that i can beat on and enjoy playing at the same time....it has a nice sound too. being a high school sophmore with limited cash flow [i need to work on the job situation], this is a great guitar for the price. my final suggestion....get it! you have read this review and the other reviews here on musiciansfreind....what do you have to lose? the price is right.....the guitar is even better.

(5 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
1.0

LC100 Classical guitar

By guitarman

from Burns Oregon

See all my reviews

Ask me a question

Pros

    Cons

    • Wrong Nut Width

    Best Uses

    • Wall hanger

    Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

    Can't blame M.F.. They read the same advertisement I see. I was promised a nut width of 1-11/16. The nut is 2 inches. The only reason I ordered this guitar is because I hate a 2x4 neck. I am sure that M.F. will take care of the problem, but this add needs to be changed now!! There was also a major chip, and crack in the back. The tuners popped so loud that I quit trying to tune it. I would not start a child on this low quality. It might discourage them from playing. I see all the 5 star ratings. One reason I chose this. But Lucero needs to pick up their game at the Q.C. level.

    • Was this a gift?:
    • No

    (5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Great...right out of the box

    By Barry Martindale

    from Rural

    Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

    Sounds awesome.
    For the money, this guitar is the greatest. I teach a guitar class in a small rural Arkansas town and have a group of 3/4 size guitars for the younger grades. I plan to hopefully purchase full size LC100s for my high school class.

    (5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Good Guitar

    By Dino Teneson

    from Baltimore MD

    Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

    this is a very good guitar I am a first chair symphony guitar player this guitar has great action nice and low and ver fast neck this plays a heck of a lot better than my more expensive clasical guitar

    (4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Great guitar

    By brutalmouse

    from USA

    Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

    I bought this guitar a couple weeks ago and havent been able to put it down. I was craving the wide fretboard, spaced nylon strings and delicious sound that classical guitar brings, but was on a short budget. The MSRP at the top seems like the right price for this, Very impressive quality

    (4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Best bang for your buck

    By Gundog

    from Los Angeles, CA

    Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

    I did alot of research before I invested my hard earned money into a guitar and played them all myself before deciding to buy this one. This thing sounds like a lower end Rogriguez guitar! I restrung this with D'addario classical silver string and now it plays like a bell! Downside is the plastic tuners, all things considered it's not a small problem. You won't find anything that sounds better until you invest in a high end guitar, period.

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    Classical Black Pearl

    By Manguz

    from San Antonio, TX

    See all my reviews

    Ask me a question

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Awesome Deep Rich Sound

    Cons

    • None so far

    Best Uses

      Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

      By far the best deal for me. I bought this guitar when it was on sale for [$]. I have played it for hours every day since the first day I got it. This awesome Lucero LC100 gives out a deep rich classical sound. A very solid and well made instrument. Outstanding tone, a great guitar for the price. Even with plastic tuning pegs and saddle, this is an amazing purchase. P.S. give it a good polish to keep that new look. Now place your order, you won't regretted.

      (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

       
      4.0

      Good Basic Classical Guitar for beginner

      By Epicstone

      from Vista, California

      See all my reviews

      Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

      I bought this to teach my wife Classical Guitar. I took out the plastic saddle and put in a Tusq saddle and installed Daniel Mari hard tension strings, adjusted the truss rod and it came to life. Making it a great classical guitar for her to learn on. I expect the tuners to fail in a short time so I will be prepared to install better tuners when that happens.

      (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Great Starter Classical Guitar

      By Telegaking

      from Rhode Island

      See all my reviews

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • durability
      • price
      • Sound

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Classical Music

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        I really enjoy this guitar. For the price, I really feel it is a great purchase. Yes there are better guitars but you will have to pay a lot of money for them. So if you are a beginning Classical Guitarist, I would definitely recommend this Guitar as a worthy first Classical Guitar.

        (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Good Classical

        By musician123

        from Cleveland, OH

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        My brother bought one of these close to two years ago. He was looking at buying a classical and when he came across this at a local retailer he bought it. Now two years later the guitar still plays great, the action is still nice and easy to play, and the tone is still pretty good. The wide, flat neck feels good and adds to how easy this guitar plays. My only problem with this guitar are the plastic heads on the tuners, they crack, break or just fall off. Overall, if you are looking for a classical to get started on or just looking for a decent student guitar, this one is a good choice.

        (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        good guitar,good deal

        By just pick'n

        from lexington ,sc

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        It sounds good to me but its my first full size classical, might be better with better strings. It has d'addarios on it, tuners are cheap though. If you want a 'cheap' classical guitar get it.

        (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Very Pleased!

        By Stewart Bateman

        from Austin, TX

        See all my reviews

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        I think this is a great guitar for both beginners and experienced players. And for the price you couldn't ask for anything better. I've been playing for 11 years and I give it my full approval.

        (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Great guitar for the price

        By Brad-X8eet

        from Pennsylvania

        See all my reviews

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        I was looking for a classical guitar, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I spent a few days looking around before I found this. I never heard of Lucero, but previous reviews helped me decide that it was worth the risk. I buy and sell guitars often, so it wasn't a big deal if it didn't meet expectations.When it was delivered, all I had to do was tune it and it was ready to play right out of the box. Intonation is good. Factory strings are lackluster, but that's something that should always be changed anyway. Stays in tune pretty well. I reside in a climate with some very hostile temperature and humidity swings, so that says something for the craftsmanship. The only setup I did aside from tuning the strings is tightening the tuners. Upgrading in this area would not hurt, but it is not necessary. This guitar is the one I pick up when I only have a few minutes to practice, so it's always ready to go. Perfect for a beginner, and good for an experienced player. Excellent value for the price.

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        3.0

        a mixed bag?

        By DotManDu

        from Olive Branch, MS

        See all my reviews

        Pros

        • Good Looks
        • Good sound
        • Loud tone

        Cons

        • Poor Tuners
        • Sharp Frets

        Best Uses

        • Beater
        • Beginners
        • Campfire Guitar
        • Camping Guitar
        • For A Second Guitar

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        The Lucero LC100 is a decent quality classical guitar. I own a black one, and I enjoy it's loud and clear, if boxy, tone. Be prepared to maybe have to file sharp fret ends - not too big a deal if you have the proper tool and the know-how. The cheap tuners bind a lot where the cams go into the head stock. They are not smooth turning at all because of this. They do hold tune very well however.

        Mine was a used instrument that I purchased for a low price, so I didn't mind putting a little effort into getting it into good playing condition. If I were buying a brand new classical for a beginner or maybe a "campfire" classical, I would look at Yamaha's student guitar offerings which typically have great fret work, sound, and smooth tuning right out of the box for a similar price.

        This guitar is a standard size classical with modern string scale and nut width of 2 inches. The wider neck and string spacing may not be suitable for someone who has very small hands or who doesn't want to play classical or fingerstyle music on a guitar.

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Amazing Value

        By Bob

        from Lafayette, CO

        Verified Buyer

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        First impression unpacking it was "wow". As I looked over every detail, I was even more impressed. The workmanship was flawless, the quality of the woods and finish remarkable and the sound much, much better than I expected from an inexpensive guitar.

        Some details - the fretboard was perfectly aligned, the frets perfectly mounted, and the intonation was very, very good.

        The tuning machines were well machined, precise and were well finished.

        Tapping the body, it had a nice resonance in the back lower bout, and on the top between the soundhole and bridge.

        The strings were well knotted on the bridge block. The wound strings held their tuning very well after stretching in. The unwound strings, while well knotted behind the bridge, were slipping on the tuning barrels and wouldn't hold their pitch. I rewound each of those and tightened their knots and the slipping went away; now the guitar holds its pitch very well.

        There's even an allen wrench included for adjusting the through the neck tensioner.

        A label inside the guitar says it was designed in California and made in China; impressive job folks.

        Altogether I would definitely recommend this guitar as a starter or as a second guitar to a steel string acoustic for a different sound, or as a reliable practice instrument.

        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Amazing guitar

        By Anonymous

        from Undisclosed

        Comments about Lucero LC100 Classical Guitar:

        I got this guitar without looking at the reviews. I played one at my local guitar store and fell in love. The black color is a major plus too. I had one hundred dollars that I wanted to spend and this was well worth it. Overall, an amazing buy.

        Displaying reviews 1-20

        Back to top

        Previous | Next »

        You are changing the Ship-To country.

        Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.