Save up to 15% off with code: STRETCH Shop Now
Looking for Coupons?Call us 800-449-9128 Hablamos Español  
MF MD HG Call & Save
Steinberger Logo
Product 518965

Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar  Black 

  • Write a Review

The Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro is an electric guitar that takes its innovative shape, hardware, and construction from its composite cousins, but uses ...Click To Read More About This Product

CHOOSE STYLE:

Please Select a Style...  
  • Black

    $399.00 Top Rated

    Ships By 7/7/17

    { "name": "Black", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 07-07-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "07-07-2017", "price": 399.00, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,399.0,false", "msrp": 665.00, "salePrice": 399.00, "listPrice": 399.00, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku518965000001000", "displaySku": "518965 000001000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/518965000001000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"3,192", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
  • White

    $399.00 Top Rated

    Ships By 7/7/17

    { "name": "White", "status": "backorderable", "statusText": "Back Order", "inventoryText": "Reserve now - Ships 07-07-2017", "inventoryKey": "available_date", "availableDate": "07-07-2017", "price": 399.00, "isOnSale": false, "easyPayOptions":"0,0,300003,6 Months Promotional Financing,12/31/2100,null,399.0,false", "msrp": 665.00, "salePrice": 399.00, "listPrice": 399.00, "isPriceDrop": false, "promos":["freeShipping","topRated","topSeller","flexibleFinancing","international"], "warranty": true, "freeWarrantyAvail": true, "sku": "site1sku518965000002000", "displaySku": "518965 000002000", "serialized": false, "stickerUrl":"http://www.musiciansfriend.com/static/mf/stickers/top-rated.png", "stickerDesc":"Top Rated by All of You Musicians!", "stickerDisplayText":"Top Rated", "shipsFree":true, "condition": "New", "priceVisibility": "1", "scene7SetID": "MMGS7/518965000002000_MEDIA_SET", "currencySymbol": "$", "freeGiftWarning":false, "freeGiftWarningTips":"", "isShipsInternational": false, "pdpLoyaltyPoints":"3,192", "pdpLoyaltyPointsMultiplier":"1", "restrictionType":"", "restrictionError":"" }
Gold Coverage: (What’s This?)
  • (Most Popular)
  • 2-Year Warranty
    FREE
  • Shipping (48 Contiguous U.S. States)
    FREE
  • Your Price :
    $3990.00
  Add to Cart
Add to Wish List

Earn up to 3,192 reward points.

See All Steinberger Solid Body Electric Guitars
OVERVIEW

The all-wood Steinberger.

The Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro is an electric guitar that takes its innovative shape, hardware, and construction from its composite cousins, but uses solid wood to achieve outstanding sustain, exceptional tonal response and a bright, clear sound.

The Spirit guitar features "neck-thru" construction. The neck is solid maple and extends completely through the body. Maple wings on either side complete the Spirit GT-Pro guitar's body.

Check the drop-down menu to the right to select colors and/or other options.

FEATURES
  • Body Wood: Maple
  • Scale Length: 25 - 1/2"
  • Neck Joint: Thru-Neck
  • Neck Wood: Hard Maple
  • Fretboard: Rosewood
  • Neck Shape: C-Shape
  • Frets: 24
  • Nut Width: 1 - 5/8"
  • Fretboard Radius: 14
  • Bridge: 40: 1 Direct Drive R-Trem Tremolo
  • Pickup Bridge: Steinberger Guitar Humbucker
  • Pickup Middle: Steinberger Guitar Single-Coil
  • Pickup Neck: Steinberger Guitar Humbucker
  • Controls: Volume/Tone
  • Tuners: 40: 1 Direct-Drive
  • Hardware color: Black
  • Pickup selector: 5-Way
  • Finish: Polyurethane

The most affordable Steinberger on the market today -- catch the Steinberger Spirit!

Reviews
Loading....

Review Snapshot

by PowerReviews
SteinbergerSpirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar
 
4.7

(based on 52 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (39)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (11)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

96%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Fun to play (20)
  • Good feel (18)
  • Good tone (12)
  • Good pick up (11)
  • Solid electronics (9)

Cons

  • Fret buzz (4)

Best Uses

  • Practicing (19)
  • Jamming (16)
  • Recording (9)
  • Small venues (8)
  • Travel (6)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Experienced (16), Professional musician (6), Novice (4)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great Guitar

I bought this guitar in 2011 to use as a travel guitar to take along on business trips. After a good setup the guitar became an immediate favorite that gets played daily. Out of...Read complete review

I bought this guitar in 2011 to use as a travel guitar to take along on business trips. After a good setup the guitar became an immediate favorite that gets played daily. Out of the box the guitar plays beautifully, sounds surprisingly rich, and sustains for days.

Being a habitual tweaker, I have made a few mods to this guitar that put it over the top. I replaced the pickups with the Seymour Duncan JB in the bridge position and Jazz in the neck (Whole Lotta Humbucker set). I also put a DiMarzio Area 58 in the middle slot. I dropped in a push-pull pot on the volume to split the coils on the humbuckers, changed the tone capacitor to fatten up the bass when the tone is rolled back, and I removed the finish from the neck and reshaped the neck to a slimmer profile. I've got Strats, Teles, LPs, and a G&L in my collection, but this little guitar that I bought for the single purpose of having a travel guitar has turned out to be a go-to guitar for almost any occasion. I couldn't recommend this guitar more heartily.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Made in China. Some build and setup issues.

Mine arrived a week ago. Made in China now and the build quality seems way below the standard I've come to expect from the Korean-made ones. Out of the box, the action was...Read complete review

Mine arrived a week ago. Made in China now and the build quality seems way below the standard I've come to expect from the Korean-made ones. Out of the box, the action was .120" at the 22nd fret, almost twice the height I have on 2 Korean-made ones. A fret rocker showed me that the zero fret is about .020" lower than the first or second-- not exactly apprentice-level craftsmanship. Since I plan on pulling all of the frets and replacing them with stainless jumbo wire, this isn't a deal-breaker for me, but for some, it could mean an instrument that by design should play very well, but by quality never will.

Reviewed by 52 customers

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Previous | Next »

(8 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

What a deal!

By Al Thompson

from Indiana

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

The features, quality, and sound of this guitar make it a real deal at this price.
I gave this a 10 simply because the features it has at this price point is pretty incredible in a quality instrument. This isn't some entry-level-quality guitar. Good sounding H-S-M pickups AND a useable locking trem at this price is enough, but coupled with the small size, light weight, neck-through construction is irresistable.

The neck is wonderful. It is considerably wider and flatter than I'm used to, but the frets are excellent, and well-dressed. The finish seems to be a fairly thick poly. There's no wood grain showing, but it will be a care-free and durable finish.

The electronics are solid, although the location of the controls is going to take some getting used to, especially if you are a palm-muter. This is simply a design issue, that, given the size of the body, seems to be a moot point. The pickups and controls are also dead quiet, even the single coil, which surprised me.
I was unsure how to rate "quality" on this because I asked myself "does this have the absolute best of every item," and the answer of course, is no. But it's also priced at only $400. I the pickups aren't quite a full and rich sounding as Gibson Burstbucker Pros. Of course, a pair of Bursbuckers would cost almost what this entire guitar sells for. Also, this guitar doesn't strive to sound like a Les Paul. Sound wise, it seems to be somewhere between an SG and an Ibanez.

The fit and finish are excellent. There is no "oddness" or blems anywhere. The setup out of the box was, however, horrible. 10 minutes with a tuner and the included allen wrench cured that problem, and it's remained rock solid ever since, even through some fairly energetic trem activity. Due to the design, tuning is extremely stable.

The gig bag, while adequate, is pretty lame. Not much padding is included, and the zippers seem like they won't last too many years.
Unlike many other guitars in this price range, this one really stands out. It not only sounds good, it's rock solid, well-built, and just happens to be really fun and easy to play sitting on the couch.

And, for those who compare this to other "travel guitars," I will note that the difference between them and this, is that this one is a REAL guitar, and is quite capable of being gigged with. It's not some bizarre cut-down skeleton that compromises on sound. It's a full-fledged rocker, that just happens to be small, comfortable, and light weight.

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Nice instrument!

By Edwin Sheldon

from Colorado

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

For some reason, these guitars have gotten a rep as crap instruments, probably from problems in manufacturing during the early years of production. That is no longer the case. I had an early Spirit bass that had problems, but after being replaced by Gibson (yes, they stand behind the warranty!), the newer instrument is superb! Likewise, the Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe guitar is a very high quality product. The workmanship and finish rivals new Gibsons that I've played, and is BETTER than most Epiphones in this price range. The neck is smooth as silk, with no rough edges on the frets. Forum posters have bad-rapped the pickups, but I don't get it. They're loud, break up smoothly when wide open, and sound good, warm and round, when backed off. They are NOT full distortion heavy-metal pickups.The guitar's sound is distinctly different in all 5 positions of the pickup switch. The only negative is the Tremolo system. It's not a full range Floyd Rose type, more like a Strat, and very stiff at that. If you're into dive-bombing, this guitar is not for you. I'd pay more for a Floyd Rose type trem. It would also be nice if Gibson included proper documentation with the instrument. Both of my Steinbergers came with Synapse docs, I had to search online for the relevent Spirit info. Other than those two minor complaints, this is a great instrument and, if lost or stolen, I'd buy another in a heartbeat.
Excellent. I'd pay more for a Floyd Rose type trem. See below.
Excellent. See below.
Excellent. See below.

(5 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe

By Azhari Agus

from Asia

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

I bought this used from MF and wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised...that is all I need to say in regards to buying used gear from MF - delivery, packing and condition unbelievably fantastic!

This was my first from MF, and it definitely won't be the last!
24-fret, 25.5" scale neck - I love it and play it with Drop D tuning to the likes of AlterBridge and Black Veil Brides - FANTASTIC!

I also play rock, pop and jazz; this is one well-rounded guitar - it's looks are deceiving.
The build quality is exceptional - equivalent to guitars of higher value and spec.
It is unbelievable that one gets so much guitar for so little $.

I collect guitars and ever since the early 90s, I have always wanted to get one but never got around to it.

The Spirit line is value for many...really!

(5 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Outstanding Instrument

By Bruce Tesch

from Florida

See all my reviews

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

The only drawback I can note is that the tremolo tends to knock the guitar out of tune and break strings. For this reason I don't use it. The bridge should have individual rollers for each string. Also, the strings are expensive but changing them is a breeze. No winding and cutting required. The small size makes it great for travelling as well.
I'm only giving features an 8 out of 10 because the stock pickups are cheap. Let's face it, to build a good guitar at this price the manufacturer has to cut corners somewhere. I replaced the neck pickup with a DiMarzio PAF Pro and the sound is fantastic. I wired the switch for single coil to play clean and humbucking for any amount of distortion. I also turned the tone control to full treble, tucked it inside the compartment and moved the volume control to the far end. Otherwise I found that the knob just got in the way. A foot pedal works a lot better for volume control anyway, in my opinion.
I have owned this guitar for 10 years and its the only one I play anymore. It still looks and plays like new. The frets show very little sign of wear. I have a genuine Gibson SG but this guitar with the PAF Pro blows away the SG (except on styling).
I bought mine 10 years ago brand new.

(4 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

It's great! Buy one!

By Jonathan Mankin

from Colorado

See all my reviews

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

For me, it's an important part of my collection, and gets used a lot. You can't beat the playability and comfort, and the electronics are plenty good enough.
Being a guitar/music freak, I like having a guitar in my lap most of the time- noodling new ideas, practice riffs, scales etc., even if it's while watching a DVD. I bought this little gem to do that comfortably. My favorite is my PRS hard-body, but it weighs a ton. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Spirit is a seriously usable instrument- great for gigs, jamming with friends, etc. Sure, my PRS sounds a little better, and the action is like "butter," but after setting up the Spirit, it's almost as playable. The pickups aren't very hot, so if you're a hard rocker-shredder, you might want to upgrade them. I do clean jazz and blues, don't need hot pickups and find that the stock ones are fine for my purposes. I have 4 great guitars- and for recording will probably use the ones with the best tone. But I'll probably spend more hours per week with this Steinberger because it's so light and comfortable to play. I had no trouble getting used to not having a headstock. And you can't beat the price. Suggestion - buy an after market string adapter so that you can use your favorite standard, single-ball strings. This is a great guitar!
It's sturdy and playable, right out of the box. You might want to set the action a little lower, which is easy to do. The fit and finish seems good. The neck is straight and flat, and they did a good job with the frets.
Excellent value.

(4 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

A well built guitar with excellent tone

By Stuart Clark

from Australia

Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

A pint-sized guitar with a full size scale. Sounds like a normal sized guitar but the feel and balence of the thing is so nice. People tend to either love or hate Steinbergers. I've become a convert.
I was most surprised by the sound that the pickups produce. I thought I would get it, play around for a while and then put in some hotter Seymore Duncan or DiMarzio pickups, but I have to say I was blown away by the sweet sound the stock pickups produce. They are not what you would want if heavy metal is your thing, but for blues and trad rock they really do the job! The middle single coil pickup is a real surprise; a wonderful warm twangy sort of tone.
I like the balence of this guitar. The lively neck; you can feel every note through your hand. The H-S-H pickups offer a wide range of tone.

Bag that it comes with is cheap and thin. I got a Synapse bag delivered with my guitar. It's too long for the short Spirit guitar, but if you push the end of the bag in on itself (like a sock) it works well and needs no further modification (sewing or cutting) to make it fit. Spend the extra money when you get yours, it's worth protecting these little hamsters!
Exceptional build quality for a guitar. Better than many guitars costing 4 x as much
Exceptional value for your money

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Great Guitar

By Dave the IT Exec

from Wichita, KS

About Me Experienced

Pros

  • Fun To Play
  • Good Feel
  • Good Pick Up
  • Good Tone
  • Great for Modding
  • Great Sustain
  • Light Weight
  • Small
  • Solid Build
  • Solid Electronics

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Jamming
    • Practicing
    • Recording
    • Rock Concerts
    • Small Venues
    • Travelling

    Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

    I bought this guitar in 2011 to use as a travel guitar to take along on business trips. After a good setup the guitar became an immediate favorite that gets played daily. Out of the box the guitar plays beautifully, sounds surprisingly rich, and sustains for days.

    Being a habitual tweaker, I have made a few mods to this guitar that put it over the top. I replaced the pickups with the Seymour Duncan JB in the bridge position and Jazz in the neck (Whole Lotta Humbucker set). I also put a DiMarzio Area 58 in the middle slot. I dropped in a push-pull pot on the volume to split the coils on the humbuckers, changed the tone capacitor to fatten up the bass when the tone is rolled back, and I removed the finish from the neck and reshaped the neck to a slimmer profile. I've got Strats, Teles, LPs, and a G&L in my collection, but this little guitar that I bought for the single purpose of having a travel guitar has turned out to be a go-to guitar for almost any occasion. I couldn't recommend this guitar more heartily.

    (3 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    A good travel solution.

    By GibsonFan

    from New Jersey

    About Me Novice

    See all my reviews

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Good Pick Up
    • Good Tone
    • Solid Electronics

    Cons

    • Wrong Instruction Manual

    Best Uses

    • Practicing

    Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

    Periodically, I have to fly to another city for meetings, sometimes for an entire week. I missed being able to play my guitars in the evening as it helps me unwind and I need all the practice I can get. This guitar is an excellent travel guitar. It is small enough to carry-on and place in the overhead bin. I also use the Apogee jam and my iPad.

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    A classic in its own right

    Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

    To me this is a travel guitar that allows you to play anything, any style, at home, in your hotel room or on stage, at one of the best price points available.

    The quality of the woods is not the best (of course), but that makes for very light weight and a unexpectedly loud sound even when unplugged. I don't particularly like the extra glossy finishing and I can see the difference between these machine heads (kind of flimsy) and the better ones used on the more expensive synapse, but these work perfectly nonetheless. I also find the mid pick up particularly weak, that's probably why it came pushed all the way up, to the extent that I had to lower it just to use the pick, and I had something buzzing under the bridge when I play the E in any position but it went away somehow.

    That said I only have positive things left to say:

    1. it is extremely playable and the action can be set extremely low without problems
    2. the quality of the details is impeccable (paint, finishing, frets, bridge etc.)
    3. the vibrato stays amazingly in tune even after pulling it down to zero tension
    4. the pick-ups do their job and I personally like their relatively flat response and clean sound
    5. it is probably the only travel-size guitar that you can take on stage to play anything you like
    6. It is probably one of the few guitars in this price range that you can take on stage knowing that it will stay in tune (as far as I tested it) no matter what and allow you to play anything you like

    Overall a guitar with a distinctive look and features, not much personality in the sound but you can always change the pick-ups if you are that kind of person, and a quality that I believe is meaningfully exceeded only in the $1k and above range. I like it so far.

    (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    great little guitar for the money

    By oldtimer still plays fender exc.

    from Ohio

    See all my reviews

    Comments about Steinberger Spirit GT-Pro Deluxe Electric Guitar:

    What I like is the price and the performance of this little guitar. It is very light after playing a Les Paul all night. It's easy to tote around. But if you can find a hard case for it, do so. The bag is not much protection from bumps and the elements. It has a great sound and the neck feels easy to cord. However it does not even come close to the original graphite neck on the old Steinbergers. But everybit as sweet as most guitars with a rosewood fretboard. The pic-ups have a good bark to them, so I dont think you will be disappointed. Hope this helped you. The little leg support is great for just plunking around the house. Great little guitar for the price. Hope this helped you. : )
    This guitar is great for on the go musicians. It has got a nice bark too! It can sound clean or down right dirty. I've played gigs with it and it did fine. I had to set it up after I got it for 9ga. strings. But it works better with 10ga. or above with this type of trem. It feels like a Floyd Rose trem. But stays in tune a little better than the FR-trem. Hope this review helped you. Rock on!

    Displaying reviews 1-10

    Back to top

    Previous | Next »

    You are changing the Ship-To country.

    Our product catalog varies by country due to manufacturer restrictions. If you change the Ship-To country, some or all of the items in your cart may not ship to the new destination.